Self-Publishing or Desperate Attempt to Feel Accomplished?

I signed up for a KDP (Kindle Direct Publishing) account last night. It was a grown up step for me.  Made me feel like I was one step closer to getting that NaNo 2012 book out to the masses for someone to read.  I did have two kind and generous people read it.  They both said they enjoyed it and liked it so that’s a good sign.  I have spent hours upon hours re-writing, editing, making sure the dots connect and I think I’m finally done.

This is the next step. The next step in getting a “book” out to the masses.  On one hand, I feel like it’s not necessarily a “real” book because anyone can self-publish.  Then I realized that I really just want people to read my stories.  And if Kindle helps people read it, cool.  If not, well hey – I didn’t lose anything now did I?

My other reason for going the self-publishing route is that I’m honestly a bit nervous about writing a query letter.  I mean I don’t know that it won’t get read and picked up, but still I can’t help but wonder if it’s easier to go the self-pub route and see if the number of sales catches the attention of a publisher.  Hey, it’s happened before…a girl can dream.

I think I’m just curious as to what will happen with this if I put it out there.  That nagging voice is shouting at me.  You know the one that is overly critical and condescending.

self-publishing-cartoon

Yeah, she’s being quite the bitch right now, but you know what? I don’t know that I care anymore what she says when it comes to my writing.  I just have to put it out there and let it go.  Who knows – I could make a killing on this first one…don’t laugh too hard at that.  There was an article on CBS Sunday Morning that talked about self-publishing and it was very interesting.

Either way, once I’m done formatting to the specifications that KDP requires, I’m going to unleash my story upon the masses.  Eeek!

I suppose that also means I should start working on self-promotion.  I’m terrible at building myself up.  But I do want to get people to read it…soooo dear readers…I’ll be letting you know when I finally get it out there and you’ll probably get sick of hearing about it, but hey – I have to be my own cheerleader right??

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Writing

Leave a Reply

