TV This Year is Tough

We are well into the Fall TV schedule and most of the new shows have started.  Now it’s time to weed out the ones that aren’t really living up to expectations.

My Sunday line-up is pretty solid.  Once Upon a Time is pretty good so far this season.  I had to come to terms with the fact that Peter Pan is in fact a big, bad meanie – something my inner child just does not want to accept still, but let’s face it.  He is.  He steals the souls of children to continue to stay young.  It’s pretty awful.  I do feel that there is a lot going on though and I hope that they can make it flow a little better and not get lost with all the different story lines.  It get too confusing.

Homeland is back and is as crazy as ever.  I cannot handle Dana though.  I’m done with her.  I don’t really care about her so whenever she shows up on the screen, I’m indifferent and find myself checking Facebook or something, anything, to avoid listening to her whine.

homeland

Monday isn’t too bad either.  The Voice is back and even though I did like Shakira more, Christina seems to be a little better than the past seasons.  Cee-Lo is just as wacky but that’s ok.  We all know everyone watches for Blake and Adam.

Agents of Shield was a complete and utter let down for me.  I had such high hopes for this show. Coulson was the best and yet here he is surrounded by the caricatures of CIA/Spy characters.  Ming-Na is such a good actress but she plays Melinda May so hard, there’s so little emotion and even though you know there’s some kind of back story, it’s hard to care because she’s just so hard.  Then there’s the mole who works for the Red Tide or whatever the bad guy group is called (see I don’t even remember the name of the bad guys!) and that seems pretty predictable.  It’s sad.  I was hoping this would be the hit of the season!

agents of shield

Castle is changing gears and the jury is still out as to whether or not it has jumped the shark.  I mean, I love that Castle and Beckett are taking things to the next step, I miss the dynamic of them working in the precinct.  Hopefully this will turn around.

Sleepy Hollow, however, is pretty good.  Being an English major, I have read the Legend of Sleepy Hollow.  This is nothing like the story I read.  It’s like they mashed up Rip van Winkle and Sleepy Hollow with the American Revolution and threw in a few Salem witches and bam!  There’s the TV show.  Oh yeah – and sprinkle on some of the supernatural like the four horsemen of the apocalypse. It’s good though.  I like it.

Sleepy Hollow on Fox

Sleepy Hollow on Fox

Tuesday is the night from hell.  Literally.  The CW is home to my guilty pleasures.  The Originals picks up some of the characters from The Vampire Diaries and moves them to New Orleans where we all know vampires swarm like rats and live lavishly like Lestat. Since I was hooked on the Vampire Diaries, this was going to clearly hook me since it was full of established characters.

The Voice night two – still good.

Supernatural.  Oh Supernatural.  I was hooked on you late in the game.  I wish I had started watching you years ago.  Then I wouldn’t have had to binge on the past 8 seasons.  I am not completely caught up but I am DVRing this season so that when I’m done ignoring the rest of my life and have watched the first 8 seasons I can continue on without interruption.

Then at 10…man…the juggling…Chicago Fire complete with its hot eye candy; Person of Interest with my crazy team of players tracking numbers; and of course Sons.  Sons of Anarchy is intense this season.  Wait, it’s intense every season.  I cannot get enough of these murderers on bikes.  The tragedy of their flawed lives, the violence of a lifestyle choice that they willingly would die for themselves…it’s such an amazing show.

I feel like I seriously could go through every night of the week, but then I realize that I watch WAAAAAY too much television and you might think that I have no life.  Wait, you might be right…oh well.  I like TV.  I’m not ashamed.  I like a good story and right now, there are so many good stories on TV it’s hard to not watch.  It’s a nice way to unwind and if you can find a show that really entertains you then go for it.

Leave a comment

Filed under TV

Leave a Reply

