And Who Are You?

Tonight, I finally began making the Daughter’s Halloween costume.  For the last two months she has asked to be Raven from Teen Titans Go!

T-E-E-N T-I-T-A-N-S...Teen Titans! Let's Go!

T-E-E-N T-I-T-A-N-S…Teen Titans! Let’s Go!

So, like many people, you are probably wondering, dear reader, who the heck is Raven?  If you already know, you are automatically cool in my book; if not, don’t worry, I will gladly explain.  Raven is the one in the above pic, floating on the left, in the purple cape.  Her comic book hero story is kind of dark.  She’s the daughter of a demon.  Her mother was part of a weird nonviolent cult that existed on another dimension…you can read all about it here, but I warn you, it’s really intense.

I first learned about Raven though, by watching this rather hysterical reboot of the series, Teen Titans. The one liners, the story lines…I have to admit, I laugh more than the daughter.  I mean who can resist an entire episode devoted to a Meatball Party!  Then of course, there is the love of the desert commonly known as Pie…”When I say yummy, you say pie.  Yummy!…..Yummy!…..”   Honestly, I really find it quite amusing.  Though, when you read the reviews, the hardcore fans do not like this reboot.  Oh well.  You can’t win them all.

At any rate, the Daughter loves Raven.  I have to admit, she’s kind of my favorite, too.  Sometimes, it is a toss up between her and Cyborg though – he’s pretty hilarious. Raven is often pessimistic, not easily amused, and sometimes just feels like a downer on the team.  Doesn’t matter, she’s still pretty awesome.  When they have a Girls’ Night Out, she certainly brings enough of “the Craaaaazy” with her and surfs on a building and thus proves that a Girls’ Night Out tops a Boys’ Night Out any day of the week, despite what the Boys may say.  Raven has more common sense and keeps the team grounded.  She tries to reign in the nonsense and the egos when they get out of hand.  She’s just pretty cool.

Building surfing

I was a little wary at first to let the Daughter watch because of the “violence” that sometimes happens but you know what, the more I watch, the more I’m ok with it.  Raven is confident in who she is.  She has friends that she ultimately cares about and who care about her too.  She loves Pretty Prancing Ponies (the MLP of the Teen Titans’ world).  She can move through dimensions. She can cast spells.  She can fly.  She’s pretty awesome.

Raven and Pretty Prancing Ponies

I think that even though most people will have no idea what the Daughter is trick-or-treating as, she will be happy and that’s the real magic of Halloween.  Having the costume you’ve always dreamed of, pretending to be something you love, and of course getting candy for it!

Tonight, the leotard and the red belt are done.  Tomorrow night, I am going to try to attempt the cloak.  Hopefully, it will be an easy project.  I am still a little torn on how to do the boot and wrist covers, but I’m sure I will figure it out.  Either way, it’s going to be a pretty kick-ass costume and I kind of wish I could dress up as Raven too.

This post is part of the October NaBloPoMo.  Check out the other awesome bloggers who are having fun writing their little hearts out this month. 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “And Who Are You?

  1. I wanna be Raven too. 🙂 Don’t you just love Halloween?

Leave a Reply

