Back to My Normal Pace

It feels so good to be back to my normal pace.  I read Night Chills by Dean Koontz yesterday.  Yes, in a 24 hour period, I read a book.  That is so much better compared to the laborious effort placed on my last selection!

night chills

Psychological Thrillers are wonderful.  There’s that slight possiblity that it could be real.  This book was first published back in the late 70s and knowing what we now know, the possibility that this exact scenario could be taking place, is slightly terrifying.

From the slighted scientist who is able to figure out how to be “the Key” to the sleepy mill town tucked away in the woods of Maine near the Canadian border, this book held all the elements of a page turner that made me want to just keep going until I found out if the experiment was successful or not.

The love plot in the book felt a little out of place, just for the sheer fact that there was more excitement in the key-lock story.  It was nice to see that the main character was able to open himself up, but there were times I didn’t feel that it was necessary.  After finishing it though, I do understand why it was introduced into the story.

There were a few scenes not for the faint of heart, however.  So if you are a reader who cannot stomach violence, then be prepared to skip a few pages or paragraphs in some cases.

This is kind of a thrown together review, but it’s due to the fact that I don’t want to give too much away because it was such a short book and a fast read.  Just know that you’ll be entertained!

For a quick summer read, it was perfect.  For my first book by Dean Koontz, it was perfect.  I may have to check out more of his work.  When I finish the ridiculously huge pile of books waiting to be read, that is!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Reviews

Leave a Reply

