Names are Important

While I am not at all even close to a fan of the family, I sadly am throwing in the towel and sharing something that has bothered me for a while now – since the name of the latest member of the Kardashian clan was announced.  My breaking point?   The other morning, Kris Jenner was on the Today Show and the interviewer asked her if she was worried that her new granddaughter would be made fun of for being named North West.  Her response was that people don’t go around calling people by their full name.

I beg to differ, Kris Jenner.

Growing up, my last name was the very same name as your granddaughter.  Lucky for me (or unfortunately now that I see that they are not just cardinal directions), my parents used normal names for me and my three brothers.  Otherwise, we would be North, South, East, and West West.  Thank god my parents had some sense.

hi my name is

The nicknames started early and didn’t just come from kids, but also from teachers.  I had one teacher who would change it every few days and call me Cathy North for a week before switching to Cathy East.  Then there was the clever teacher who couldn’t pick and called me NorthSouthEastWest.  Creative, right?

It is one of those last names, that when paired properly, rolls right off the tongue.  I was ok with that.  I got used to hearing friends say CathyWest all in one breath, as if it were one word.  Even at work, I had bosses call me that on a regular basis.  Granted, it sometimes got shortened to CWest but, the last name never left the equation.

I know that they think they are giving their beloved baby a beautiful, unique name and it really is none of my business what they name their child, but I feel badly for the poor child.  Maybe it’s the writer in me that sees names as a major part of ones identity and that there is so much potential.  It’s just I feel badly for all these babies with really weird names, celebrity or not.  Sorry, I’m a traditionalist in that sense.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

