Rhode Island Roots

Rhode Island is a very unique place in our country. If you have never been there, then you really should go, just so you can say you’ve been to the smallest state in the Union. Go to Newport and see the mansions.  Spend a day in Providence walking down Thayer Street.  Get a hot wiener at the Wien-o-Rama.  Sip a Del’s Frozen Lemonade.  Try the pizza strips and for God’s sake, visit a bakery and get some delicious pastries!

Welcome to Rhode Island

The Ocean State is where my family comes from.  Going back three generations, my great-grandparents were all in Rhode Island I believe, making their way for my grandparents and my parents. I wish I could tell you exactly what they were doing, but I honestly have no idea.  I suppose I should ask my mother about that.  She may know.

This month’s NaBloPoMo topic is going to be interesting because as I sit here writing (or attempting to because I’m really drawing a blank with this one today), I realize that there is a lot about my father’s side of the family that I have absolutely no clue about.  I mean I remember some of the things that were told to me as a child but I don’t have a way to get the questions I have now answered.  How strange it is to feel that.  I am interested but I don’t really know how I would even begin to find those things out.

Let’s see if I can get some answers…

This post is part of the June NaBloPoMo.  This month’s theme is Roots. Today’s prompt: “Go back three generations and tell us about where your family lived.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, NaBloPoMo

Leave a Reply

