Book Review: The City of Bones

I like YA fiction.  I love it.  I really do enjoy it.  For some reason, they capture this amazing fantasy world that is just pure entertainment.  I have yet to find a YA series that I didn’t really like.   Don’t judge.

Most recently, I have discovered the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.  By discovered, I really mean I have devoured it.  I read all five books in a matter of five days.  I will start (big surprise) with the first book.

city of bones

Clarissa Fray is a normal teenager living in New York.  Along with her best friend, Simon, who like many American teenagers, is in a band with an ever changing name, Clary lives a typical, normal, and average life.  They have been best friends since childhood and it is no surprise that they are together on the night when Clary’s life changes forever.

In a seedy New York club called Pandemonium, Clary sees a beautiful group of teenagers attack a person and discovers a whole new part of the world in which she lives.

All of our fables are true.  Vampires, Werewolves, Fair Folk, Warlocks, Angels, and Demons.  And then there are Shadowhunters.  Jace Wayland is the epitome of a Shadowhunter – arrogant, deadly, and in Clary’s eyes, electric.

Something, however, is not quite right and after Clary’s mother is abducted and Clary herself is attacked by a demon, she knows that there is something deeper going on in the city that she thought she knew.  Her life is turned upside down as she finds truths in the Institute, a Shadowhunter embassy of sorts.

The plot is somewhat predictable but overall, it was ridiculously entertaining.  As Clary discovers herself and the Institute, I found myself enjoying the ride, discovering the world with her.  I could easily slip into her shoes and understand how she felt as everything was turned upside down.

Clare’s writing style is fantastic.  It moves at a very good pace with very few slow spots (which can sometimes happen with YA) and I found myself more than willing to pick up the second book…and the third, fourth, and fifth…

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Reviews

Leave a Reply

