Oooh, That Smell…

I sometimes think I have an overly sensitive nose.  Certain smells are fantastic.  Clean linen, lilacs, roses, fresh cut grass, and early spring and summer mornings are all smells that make my heart happy.  Do they make me comfortable?  Maybe. To be honest, I never really thought about it until today’s NaBloPoMo prompt.  I suppose that is also why I procrastinated writing this post all day.  I was thinking about smells and do they make me comfortable.

Sunny

I know certain smells make me want to vomit.  Smells that come wafting out of Abercrombie and Fitch, vanilla scented candles (yes, I know I’m weird), bacon (please don’t stop following my blog because I don’t like the smell, or taste that matter, of bacon), and the litter box (a common one) all nauseate me.

The smells I mentioned in the beginning though, remind me of happy things.  Campfires remind me of family camping trips in New Hampshire and southern Maine, of laughter, and of going down (baby) rapids backwards in a canoe because Brother #2 pushed too hard off the rock he was supposed to push off of.

Lilacs and roses make me think of my Nana and her love of her garden and her flower arrangements.  I wish I had inherited her green thumb, alas, I sadly cannot keep anything alive for very long.

Books.  Yes, books are another amazing and happy smell.  A library smells like memories of books read, friends met on the pages, worlds traveled, triumphs, losses, and lives lived.

I suppose when it comes down to it, there is some comfort in smells.  Maybe I should look more for that comfort over the carbohydrate filled comfort.  Either way, I’m  contemplating whether or not keep a journal of the smells and what memories they conjure up.  It might just a writing exercise to keep the wheels greased so to speak, but it would be no different from the weather journal I kept back in college for a semester of my creative writing seminar.  It could be an interesting thing…smells, a retrospective.

Then again, the journal idea could stink.

This post was written as part of the May NaBloPoMo.  The theme this month was comfort and the prompt for today was “Do certain smells make you feel instantly comfortable?”  And I’m sorry if you are still groaning over that last line.  I just really couldn’t help myself.  It was right there, ripe for the picking…

What smells make you feel comfortable?

1 Comment

Filed under NaBloPoMo

One response to “Oooh, That Smell…

  1. Carol Benner Schumacher

    I love that photo you have on here today Cathy! Love it! I too had a hard time writing about this one, till my crappy day gave me the idea.

Leave a Reply

