I Scream, You Scream

Comfort food is amazing.  Well, I should amend that statement.  It tastes amazing.  It isn’t amazing for one’s health.  And for someone who sought comfort in food for a good part of her life, I can tell you that it’s not amazing for my health.  That doesn’t change the fact that sometimes, you simply need it.  Mom’s American Chop Suey, Nana’s Pepperoni Bread, meatloaf, mashed potatoes…comfort food.

For me, it’s a simple choice – ice cream has always the best comfort food out there.

Outset

Pretty much any flavor, with the exception of anything orange creamsicle or coconut flavored or weird culinary flavors like Lobster Ice Cream (which I have tried),   is fair game when it comes to comfort.

Ben and Jerry are personal heroes of mine.  They have managed to create some of the best flavors of ice cream on this beautiful planet.  The creaminess of the cream; the swirls of chocolate, caramel, marshmallow, peanut butter, or whatever else is in there; the flavor of the cream; the chunks of chocolate, brownies, cookies, chocolate dipped waffle cones…all of it is a masterpiece that, as I type this, is making my mouth water.   Most recently, the limited batch of Cannoli ice cream (hands off those who live near me – it’s mine – all mine!)  was called upon during the last week when I was waiting for some results from the doctor.  It is now probably my most favorite ice cream on the planet.  It’s savory and sweet.  It’s creamy and crunchy.  It’s heaven in a pint.

cannoli-wtgi

I know it’s not a healthy way to respond to stress or a bad day, but sometimes, there is nothing better than eating some ice cream right out of the little pint. I suppose that is also why I have to attend Weight Watchers weekly but enough of that talk.  Right now, we’re talking about comfort food.

Why does ice cream have this effect on me?  Why do I always feel better after I have a little bit (or a lot) of this delicious frozen treat?  For the answer, we can thank some pretty awesome scientists.

How my inner child feels when I eat ice cream.

How my inner child feels when I eat ice cream.

A few years ago, a group of scientists and doctors actually proved that ice cream does something to the brain.  It actually can make you happy!  I know that it’s a temporary happiness but seriously – did you ever think that ice cream could impact your brain like that?

Apparently, comfort food, as a whole category of food, has been the subject of many studies.  Psychologist, neurologists, all kinds of people, seeking the truth behind the reasons people turn to the foods they turn to.   I find it fascinating to know that ice cream, of all of the comfort foods out there, has been proven to actually activate the sections of your brain that make you happy.

This post was written as part of the May NaBloPoMo.  This month’s theme is “comfort” and today’s prompt was “What is your biggest comfort food?  Share the recipe if you have one.”  And being an expert of comfort foods and eating for comfort, today’s post was easy peasy…What’s your favorite comfort food?

6 Comments

Filed under Food, NaBloPoMo

6 responses to “I Scream, You Scream

  1. Carol

    Cathy, I have never been much on ice cream. Don’t get me wrong if somebody makes me a bowl of it I’m eating it, especially butter pecan! My go to comfort foods if it’ something little is cake or candy or donuts. If it’s a meal I wrote about it on my blog, it’s cubed steak, or even better yet, round steak cooked like cubed steak!

    • ClewisWrites

      It’s so interesting to me what people move toward for comfort. I like cake too (as I wrote in my blog a while back). I tend to go for the sweets and carb-heavy comfort foods. Yet, I know that the Husband also likes to go toward the savory side. It’s so interesting!

    • Yeah, I have to agree with Carol on this one. I’m not a big fan of ice cream, though I will occasionally partake in the summer time if my husband or kids want some. It’s not something I seek out on my own.

      I’m sitting here this morning trying to think of what my “comfort” foods are and I’m thinking I’d probably have to go with a cup of good coffee. It’s something I really crave and need. Oh, yeah, and chili cheese fries. 😉

      • ClewisWrites

        Yes – a good cup of coffee is sometimes wonderful.

        Chili cheese fries…an interesting choice!

  2. Carol

    Cathy, it really is interesting. I think that’s what makes the world go around, as they say. We are all unique. Wouldn’t it be terrible if we were like all those aliens we see on the Sci-Fi movies that all look alike and probably all eat something that is the exact same for every meal? LOL I watch too much TV/Movies!

Leave a Reply

