No More Room

At some point, a girl must realize that she has to make room in her bed for things other than stuffed animals. I graduated from stuffed animals to a body pillow. I never really played with stuffed animals much so it wasn’t really a big deal. I mean I had my Cabbage Patch but I can’t honestly remember when I gave up sleeping with it. I had a pile of stuffed animals that stayed in the back of my closet that I kept for sentimental reasons but they didn’t take up space on my bed really.

By the time I was ready to leave for college, I had discovered body pillows. It was a way to sleep with a stuffed animal without the fear of being judged by my new college roommates. I don’t know why they were so comfortable but, I remember getting so attached to my body pillow that I couldn’t sleep unless I was snuggled up next to it. It sounds (and looks) looks a bit silly to say that but it was the truth. I remember other people who did bring stuffed animals to college and insisted that they didn’t sleep with them. Then there were those who opted for the “husband pillow,” a pillow that had arm rests. I just stuck with my body pillow.

body pillow

It wasn’t a comfort in the psychological sense, but rather in the physical sense. It was warm. It was comfy. It was good for sleeping, it was good for sitting up in bed to read. It worked great as a floor pillow for movie nights. It was perfect!

Then the Husband came along and became a human space heater. My body pillow has been relegated to the back of my closet. A sad and lonely fate for such a comfy friend. To be honest, there just wasn’t enough room for all three of us in the bed. I think the Husband was getting jealous that I was making more room for the pillow than for him. But in my defense, the pillow never snored.

Now the Daughter on the other hand…she is constantly sleeping with every stuffed animal she owns and I wonder how she even manages to get comfortable enough to sleep when buried under all of “her guys.” She must though because every morning, she is up at the crack of dawn, talking to them in her bedroom, reading stories to them, quietly waiting for me to wake her up.

Not my Daughter's bed but awfully close...

Not my Daughter’s bed but awfully close…

This post was written as part of May’s NaBloPoMo. This month’s theme is comfort.  Today’s prompt: “Do you still sleep with a stuffed animal now?”  If you do, it’s ok.  You can admit it – this is a judgement free zone.

10 Comments

Filed under Family, NaBloPoMo

10 responses to “No More Room

  1. I loved this. I, too, gave up my stuffed animals, but now have a real furry one curled up beside me most nights, my cat Sooty. Having said that, I now realise that I have some sort of stuffed animal in every room of my house! Hmm. Wonder what that says about me?

    • ClewisWrites

      It says you are a fun person. Honestly though, it doesn’t really matter does it? You like them and that is all that matters! 🙂

  2. I have a king sized bed so there is plenty of room for my husband and my body pillows! Note I said pillows, we have 2. One for me, one for him (though really I use them both). There is nothing like a comfy pillow to curl up with for a nap. What I think I may of just answered tomorrow’s prompt!! LOL! 🙂

  3. Carol

    Cathy I was afraid that was your daughter’s bed! I was like oh my goodness!! How does she sleep like that!

    • ClewisWrites

      Ha! No, we have a rocking chair that is really full. Tonight though, we tucked in Pooh, Piglet, Eeyore, a unicorn, a fairy bear, “Little Pooh” which is the most essential one! and her Dream Light. Oh and we can’t forget the Penguin Pillow Pet. She cannot sleep without that pillow pet!

      • Carol

        LOL! Well she has quite the collection. Bless her heart.

      • ClewisWrites

        Too much for my personal liking. I now realize they really take up a ton of space, something I was oblivious to as a kid! But we’ve given away most of the non-essential animals that have accumulated over the years which is still a huge amount of stuffed animals LOL

  4. You reminded me I had a Cabbage Patch doll, but I don’t know where she went, I do have her adoption certificate in almost mint condition though, which is weird. Maybe my collection of over 100 Barbie dolls know where she is?

    Lol it’s true pillows or bears never snore! 😀

    I read something about pillows and how we should have more than one for correct sleeping, that you should have one at your back, front, a small one in between your knees….I can’t get out of bed as it is, but I like your body pillow idea.

    By the way the clown in that child’s bed photo freaks me out, it reminds me of the movie Poltergeist hahaha!

    I sleep with one bear now and my other half who does snore, but not after a nudge.

    • ClewisWrites

      Oh wow – I think I mentally blocked out that clown. I used to have a clown collection but some of dolls are pretty creepy, like the doll in this photo.

Leave a Reply

