My BFF Sarah Jane

1983 was the year of the Cabbage Patch.

I remember (vaguely since I was only 3 and 1/2 years old) waiting in the car while one of my parents went into Toys R Us in Cranston, RI to get one for my older cousin and one for me.  I don’t remember much other than getting home and being told that her wonderful name was Sarah Jane and that she was all mine.

Mine kind of looked like this but had a different yellow dress.

Mine kind of looked like this but had a different yellow dress.

I got her home and she was wonderful.  She smelled good.  She had beautiful brown yarn hair that I loved to play with.  She had a beautiful yellow dress and little white shoes.  I loved her.

My mother was pregnant at the time with Brother #2 and I remember that Sarah Jane was going to be my baby.  When Brother #2 came, I brought Sarah Jane with me to the hospital to meet the newest Brother and I remember the nurses in the maternity ward giving me some diapers for my baby.  I was so happy.  I remember just changing her diapers and feeling like I was taking care of my baby like my mom was taking care of hers.

I loved that doll.   She was my partner in crime and was with me almost all the time.  I still have her, a Cabbage Patch preemie “Patrick,” and a Cabbage Patch Koosa cat in the closet.  Maybe it’s time to bring them out for the daughter so she can introduce them to her dolls?

Patrick and my Koosa

Patrick and my Koosa

This post was written as part of the May NaBloPoMo.  This month’s theme is Comfort and the post for 5/1 was “Did you have a favourite stuffed animal or lovey as a child?  Tell us about it.” 

What was your favorite stuffed animal as a child? 

6 Comments

Filed under NaBloPoMo

6 responses to “My BFF Sarah Jane

  1. I had a cabbage patch doll, too, but I was an adult at the time! I traveled on business & accidentally left her in a hotel room in Tucson! Thankfully the maids kept their eyes on her and saved her until I could come and retrieve her! PHEW! Look forward to getting to know you during April at NaBloPoMo!

  2. Kim

    I didn’t know there were Cabbage Patch animals. How cute!

    • ClewisWrites

      Yeah. To be honest it is a little creepy. But I kept it all these years. I did lose the collar though.

  3. Oh goodness, what a lovely story! What kind nurses, too, to do that for you.

  4. I had a cabbage patch doll when I was little. I called him Daniel and he smelled like talc. I wish I’d held onto him but he was lost in a house move 😦

Leave a Reply

