Books I Haven’t Read but Probably Should

There are books that everyone reads in high school. Or at least there are books most everyone reads in high school. Recently, I realized that I have not read quite a few of the “classic” works of American literature.

classic_literature

It surprised me to see how many of the books on the list of and on school curricula that I have never read. I have seen the movies, but we all know that they typically pale in comparison to the books.

to-kill-a-mockingbird2_9855

Over the next few months, I have decided that I am going to rectify this problem, starting with Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird. Yes, you read that correctly. I have never read that book. Not in High School. Not in college. Odd for someone who was an English major, isn’t it?

To_Kill_a_Mockingbirdbook

The other books only list include e Catcher in the Rye, Catch-22, Pride and Prejudice, and Brave New World (just to name a few).

I am looking forward to it, even if it seems like a daunting task to tackle some of these classics. I feel kind of like a fraud for not having ever read them and the countless others that are on this list and the summer reading lists of many students.  I want to really work through the 100 greatest novels of all time (most of those books are on the list) and over the next few weeks, I think I can begin to put a dent in that list and add to the list of ones I have already read.

What book have you never read but think it might be time to take a stab at?

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Culture

One response to “Books I Haven’t Read but Probably Should

  1. Pingback: Op-Ed: We Need More Diversity in English Class Curriculum | Let's win college.

Leave a Reply

