A 4-year Old’s Marriage Proposal

I don’t really remember much of it, but the story still surfaces on occasion.  I was four years old and in preschool.  Being almost five, I knew what I liked and at the time I liked Jack (Names have been changed for rather obvious reasons).

I honestly couldn’t tell you why Jack was the one for me, but I was convinced that he was the one.  The group of us that were in that preschool together were friends (even if we may have grown apart) all the way from preschool through high school and thanks to Facebook, most of us are reconnected there.  Funny how growing up in a small town creates such strong ties to people who shared the same experiences.  At any rate…

One day, I mustered up the courage, while standing in line for bathroom breaks, to ask Jack to marry me.  It took a lot of courage for me to ask him but I was certain he would say yes.  How could he not say yes?

I don’t remember his exact response but I remember telling his mother (our teacher) that Jack wouldn’t marry me.  She assured me that someday he might change his mind.  Then from the other room, you could hear a little voice shout “Oh no I won’t!”

After I got over the shock of being rejected which probably took all of five seconds at that young age , I managed to live a very fulfilling life and so did he.

Crushes are funny like that.  Whether you work up the courage to tell them or just let them simmer until you move on, there’s always some part that sticks in your memory and makes you smile at the innocence of it all.  I would be lying though, if I said I was looking forward to the Daughter’s first crush.  I have a feeling it will be a roller coaster!

This post is part of the February 2013 NaBloPoMo series.  This month’s theme is Love and Sex.  Today’s prompt was “Tell us about your first crush.”  Do you remember yours?

6 Comments

Filed under NaBloPoMo

6 responses to “A 4-year Old’s Marriage Proposal

  1. Carol

    Oh I just had to comment on this. Daughter’s first crush will crush you too! Well not her first crush like yours at a tender young age, but as a teen and when they have that first breakup and they are sure that they will never be happy again! It just tears your heart out. You’re post did make me smile thinking of you at that age and your first crush “Jack”. *S*

  2. My four year old daughter was caught in the middle of a huge argument. Three boys were fighting over which one was going to marry her!!!! Quite funny, she turned around to them and said, none unless you’re a prince, cause I’m going to be a princess!!! Love my girl.

  3. My son just told me a long story about his girlfriend. He’s 3.5 and so is she. I wonder if they’ll remember one another when their older!

    • ClewisWrites

      So adorable isn’t it? I love this age and the things they say! The Daughter told us the other day she has a boyfriend. The Husband started to ask what’s his name, what are his intentions, obviously joking more with me than with her. It was cute.

Leave a Reply

