Three Words

There are three words that are not said enough.  Even if you say them regularly, it’s not enough.

As I work on getting back on track with myself and my weight loss journey, I realize that there are so many other motivations here than just me feeling pretty for once in my life.  Being overweight has so many bad side effects.  Aside from the aesthetics and questionable styled clothing for us fat women, there are increased risks on almost every medical front.

overweight_problems

High Blood Pressure. Arthritis.  Gall Bladder Disease.  Cancer.  Heart Disease. Stroke. Type 2 Diabetes.  Sleep Apnea.

All of those things linger in the wings, waiting.  Some have already happened to me and now is the time to make sure none of the more serious ones happen.

There was a point where I would sometimes wonder about the next morning.  I’m too young to wonder those kinds of things but that’s how badly I felt I neglected myself.  Would the people I love know I felt that way if that next morning didn’t come?  Would they have heard me say it enough?

Right after my Nana and then my Aunt passed away, I kept thinking about how I didn’t say those words to them enough.  They just weren’t the type to say it that much.  You knew they loved you but it wasn’t something that was just openly said on a regular basis.  I couldn’t help but feel guilty, especially after my aunt died, that I didn’t tell them enough that I loved them.  I felt guilty that I didn’t call her more often to just catch up.

say i love you

With the Daughter, I tell her all the time.  I mean all the time. When she wakes up, when she gets her breakfast, when I drop her off at school, when I get home from work, all the time.  The husband ends every form of communication with those three words.  I tell my Mom.  I even say it to my brothers sometimes, but I think they think it’s a little weird.

The point is this.  Say those three words and mean them.  We never know when our time is up.  We never know when we’ll get another chance to say them so say them whenever you can.  Mean every one of those three words.  Feel the words.  Know their truth and make sure that those who love you know it too.

When was the last time you said those three words?

This post is part of the February 2013 NaBloPoMo.  The theme for February is “Love and Sex.”  Today’s prompt was “When was the last time you said, ‘I love you.’?”  Just remember they are powerful words so do not use them lightly.

8 Comments

Filed under Emotional Health, Family, NaBloPoMo

8 responses to “Three Words

  1. akl

    How wonderful that you are raising your child in an “i love you” house. I was raised in one, and never once questioned whether my family loved me. I tell my daughter that I love her every day.

  2. What a lucky kiddo. 🙂 My husband and I exchange “3 words” all day, but I’m not awesome at telling my family and various parents. It always feels awkward. I should do it anyway, though, right? Right. New goal.

    • ClewisWrites

      It’s awkward at first but you know what it is worth it. No time like the present. Even if you think they know, it’s still kind of nice to hear it every once in a while.

  3. Carol

    I always try to say I Love You to my family as they leave for work or school or I hang up on the phone from my daughter while she’s at college, or even in a text. My family knows well how much I love them. My parents are different. It’s harder to say to my dad. It’s weird, we were never “close” as I grew up, though I do love him dearly, he just is from the old school you don’t show your emotions if your a man type thing. Lately though, whenever I talk to him on the phone I always say “I love you Dad” when I hang up. I know it’s awkward in a way for him, but I also can tell he likes hearing it. You’re a great mom! I can tell!!

  4. I tell all of my family members “I love you” when we’re ending a phone call. Some of them may think it’s weird, but I don’t care. Some of them act awkward, feeling some kind of pressure to say it in return – I can here it in their voices. Heck, my grandfather simply says “Yep”! but, I’m guessing that may be a generational issue.

    Your daughter is fortunate that you’re showing her that expressing your feelings should be a regular part of life, and shouldn’t come only on special occasions!

  5. I make it a point to tell my kids multiple times a day, oh and my mom…but everyone else may get an I love you, but more than likely it is a gesture that expresses my love for them

Leave a Reply

