2013 – The Year of Energy

January is already over.  ALREADY!?

It amazes me how fast life goes now that I’m a “grown up.”  It could be because I have a child and watching her grow is so fascinating.  It could be that there aren’t as many “breaks” in my year (summer break, Christmas break, school vacations).  For whatever reason, this year is already going by too quickly.

This year, I have pledged to myself that I am going to get back 100% to my goals.  I have three main goals that I want to accomplish this year.  They are not simple ones either but I know that throughout the year, I’m going to have to take measures to ensure that I keep my energy levels up so I can complete these three goals.

writingGoal 1 – Finish my NaNoWriMo book.  I hit my 50,000 word count back on November 29th but I haven’t finished the actual book.  I got a little stuck.  Ok. I got a lot stuck.  I had my outline but I just am not sold on the ending.  I don’t know how to finish.  To keep my energy up on this behemoth of a project, I try to write at least five sentences a day on it.  This way I can keep the characters alive in my head and hopefully they will speak to me and tell me what the end of this particular story is.  I just wish that they would hurry up and decide how this particular story is supposed to end.  I’ve written five different endings and they don’t feel right.  Something isn’t clicking…time to mute the self-doubt voice but seriously – it’s annoying me.

Goal 2 – Be at my 75 lb gone mark by December 31, 2013.  It’s not that unreasonable to think I could hit that goal.  Now that’s 75 lbs from my starting Weight Watchers weight back in May of 2010.  It’s not even close to my end goal but it would be a nice leap toward that finish line.  If we break down that amount by 52 weeks in the year, that means I would have to lose about .7 pounds a week through the rest of the year.  I can do that. I can focus and actually work on it and get there.  Obviously if I could get even further, that would be amazing too! To keep myself energized on this journey is a little harder.  After a two week of meh planning and tracking, it’s hard to pull myself out of the funk and get back to basics.  But you see, that’s really the best way to fix it.  To get my energy back, I need to go back to basics.  I need to take one small step at a time.  (Sorry if I sound like a broken record but honestly, it’s one of those things, the more I say it the more I believe it.  Just bear with me again…Someday, I won’t be as virtually needy, I promise.)

BooksGoal 3 – Read 100 books this year.  This one is not really a completely serious goal but it is something I would really like to be able to say I’ve done.  I love Goodreads.com and they have a reading challenge every year to read x number of books.  Last year, I tried to read 100 books. I failed miserably but you know what, I kind of got started late in the year.  This year, I’m shooting for 100 again.  I’m behind but you know what, that’s ok.  I’m going to keep plugging along at it.  Again, to keep my energy up with this one, I’m going to just keep reading.  I’m going to [try to] commit to one night a week with no tv and no computer.  Just me and a book (or my kindle).  This way, I should be able to get pretty close to that 100 book goal, especially if I have books that turn out to be page turners.  Some are going to be.  Some are going to drag.  But in the end, it will be pretty cool I think!

Throughout the year, I’m certain I’m going to need to recharge my energy.  It’s almost inevitable but it will be worth it all if on January 1, 2014 I can proudly say I have accomplished at least two out of the three goals listed above!

What will you do to recharge your batteries?  And if you have any books to suggest to my list of 100 books in 2013, please feel free to share!

This post is the last post of the January 2013 NaBloPoMo.  January’s theme was energy.  The prompt for January 31st was “What will you do to energize yourself for 2013?”  Well?  What will you do?

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Healthy Me - Yay!, NaBloPoMo

2 responses to “2013 – The Year of Energy

  1. Carol

    Cathy, I really love reading your blog as you well know. You suggested that for getting stuck with what to blog about I check out the prompts from NaBloPoMo like you did for January. Are they doing the same thing for February? I’d be really interested in trying this. I don’t consider myself a writer like you are, but I would enjoy a challenge. I feel like I constantly write about the same thing all the time, which makes sense since my blog is supposed to be about weight loss. LOL Maybe you could give me a little advice and where to start. I’m a little behind the times I guess. *S* Any help appreciated.

    • ClewisWrites

      Yes – they do it every month. February’s theme is Love and Sex. But you don’t have to always follow the prompt – or you can take it in a different direction like I did with that one week of energy. Some of the prompts make me feel like a prude but I don’t know that I want to share all of those things so I expect there will be some stories or maybe even books that I can relate to those prompts. Some of the participants share it all so it’s interesting to read how everyone interprets the prompt. And btw – if you write anything you are a writer in my book! 😉

Leave a Reply

