Clear Out The Distractions

There are times when I feel like I can’t do what I’ve set out to do. There’s so much involved with getting healthy and getting my life back to what it should be at my age. It’s a lot at times to take head on. The big picture can be intimidating and overwhelming because let’s face it, I don’t have just 25 lbs to lose. There are a lot of things I need to do to not let myself get side tracked.

distractions

The list of what I need to do is simple.  Eat right, exercise, go to weigh in no matter what, track my every bite, lick, and taste, and forgive myself when I slip up rather than let it landslide into a food avalanche.

When I sit down to do the math, the total number of time that I need to lose five pounds can seem impossible. But, that smaller five pound goal seems more possible than the grand total!   That is the trick, you see.  I need to look at little victories.  In Weight Watchers, we call them the non-scale victories, things like losing inches, fitting into new clothing sizes, being able to say no to a gorgeous, decadent piece of cake even though every cell in your brain is screaming eat the cake!  Looking at these small victories and combining them with the larger more obvious ones like the number on that metal box many people torture themselves with, it is much easier to stay energized and focused on the task at hand.

The distractions are just that, they distract you from your goal.  You need to keep pushing, never give up, never surrender.

Never give up.  Never surrender.

“Never give up. Never surrender.” Commander Peter Quincy Taggart – Galaxy Quest Though, this picture is not one of Commander Taggart but rather of the Thermians. 

The reason I haven’t already gained back every pound I lost and then some on this round of Weight Watchers is that in the almost 3 years I’ve been going and weighing in, I haven’t given up. Yes, there have been some struggles (hello 2012 and the great gallbladder saga), but I haven’t given up.  I have faked it some weeks, some months.  I firmly believe that is why I have not gone back to where I was at the start.  I also believe that is why I will eventually get to my goal.  This week has been one of those fake it weeks.   I can admit that because I know that even though I’ve been faking it, I will still go to weigh in.  I will own the fact that I haven’t made the best choices this week.  I will do my best to clear out the distractions and keep moving forward.  In the end, it will happen.

Today’s post is part of January 2013 NaBloPoMo.  This month’s theme is energy.  Today’s prompt was, “Benjamin Franklin said, ‘Energy and persistence conquer all things.’ Do you agree or disagree?”  What do you think of Mr. Franklin’s observation? 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Healthy Me - Yay!, NaBloPoMo, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

