The Cold that Keeps on Giving

We are sick.  Every one of us in the house has some form of a cold.   That means that we have been going through kleenex, well, like kleenex.

I should have bought the ones with lotion...

I should have bought the ones with lotion…

It’s funny, though, because we are all trying to treat it differently and having varying degrees of success.  It amazes me how the common cold just messes with people in so many different ways.  Science is cool.

The Husband is relying on his four-hour generic brand of mucinex.  It seems to work for the congestion but he is not taking anything for his cough.  His cough could wake the dead.  I’m not even kidding.  He wakes up in the morning and it’s an ear-piercing cough that just keeps going to the point that I find myself wondering if I need to call him some help.  He insists that the mucinex is all he needs.

The Daughter is too young for most medicines and the pediatrician said to let her cough it out.  We do use the vapor plugs and steam.  At night, we can give her delsym so that’s good at least for sleeping.

These things make the whole room smell like vapor rub without the mess!

These things make the whole room smell like vapor rub without the mess!

The Mother is using a combination of Tylenol, mucinex, and cough drops to fight her cold.  Though she seems to have had it worst and is trying her best to just get lots of sleep and stay hydrated.

As for me…I’ve been sick since Christmas eve.  First, I got a cold that turned into laryngitis, then it turned into that bronchial thing that required a massive dose of amoxicillin for 7 days.  That was fun.  So that cleared up but I never quite shook the cold.  So these past two days, the cold has been back full force.  Fun times.  I’m treating this lovely cold with Robitussin multi-symptom cold and Tylenol. It seems to be working which is good.

The past two nights, we all agreed that we should try to eat some spicy foods to help burn it out of our systems.  Last night we splurged with buffalo wings from the Nines and tonight was jambalaya.  I don’t know if it made it better or worse.  I just know that I cannot wait for this winter sick season to be over!

So worth the extra points to be able to breathe for about an hour or so after eating them!

So worth the extra points to be able to breathe for about an hour or so after eating them!

Today was nice though – a balmy 50 degrees and even with the ridiculous wind gusts, the fresh air felt so good.  The sun was warm and I almost forgot that it was January and that Monday is supposed to bring a few inches of snow.

The common cold always seems to elude a sure-fire cure.  I wish there was a way to just get rid of it after a day.  But as the saying goes, “If wishes and buts were cherries and nuts, we’d all have a merry Christmas!”

What do you like to do when you are battling the common cold??

 

6 Comments

Filed under Family, Healthy Me - Yay!

6 responses to “The Cold that Keeps on Giving

  1. Carol

    I’m so sorry your family has been sick and wow, sounds like you have been for some time. I hate colds. I almost would rather have the flu! Get it, get it over with. Colds just linger too darn long!
    When I get a cold I just try to sleep as much as I can. Rest seems to help battle those evil germs. I hope everybody is better soon.

    • ClewisWrites

      Yes. Sleep is really the best remedy. And I agree. At lest with stomach bugs, they are over pretty quickly. Colds take FOREVER!!

  2. Try some ginger in your cooking, and some lemon, works wonders. Hope you all get better soon!

  3. Ginger tea with lemon and honey. Chop fresh ginger and Putin boiling water for a few minutes. Strain and add honey and lemon to taste. Supposed to be anti viral and bacterial.

Leave a Reply

