My Glorified Journal?

I am still somewhat new to blogging on a regular basis.  That means that you, dear reader, must please be patient with me while I figure out the best formula for my little spot on the internet.  It’s a little harder than I initially thought it would be, to be honest.  There’s so much on the internet today.  What will make someone read my little blog and enjoy it, rather than think it’s some narcissistic attempt to have a more modern version of a journal…even though it kind of is, isn’t it?

I find it so hard though to come up with a plan, a schedule of what kind of posts are going to be on what days.  NaBloPoMo has been a godsend because I don’t have to do the thinking, though they do present me with one more conundrum.

There are so many different ways to plan a blog.  You can pick a theme for the blog and only blog about that one thing.  You can have different days devoted to different topics.  You can have one whole month devoted to a single topic.  You can photo blog. You can vlog or video blog.  There’s just too many options on how to organize a blog.

Then we get back to my original source of anxiety.  What to write about.  I knew going into this blog, I wanted to talk about things I liked.  Then I realized, I like a lot of things.  Books, food, movies, writing, family…all of these are great topics to write about.  So, the question then is, what is the right combination to keep people reading my little bitty blog.

It’s exhausting at times to think about this task of keeping this blog relevant and fresh.  What possessed me to take this on other than my need to get these thoughts and ideas out of my head?  Oh that’s right, I wanted to be a writer!

What do you find to be the thing about blogging (or any craft/hobby)you do that takes up the most of your energy?

This post was written as day 11 of NaBloPoMo January 2013.  The theme this month is Energy and today’s prompt was “What blogging task takes up a lot of your energy?”  Check out all the great blogs that are participating!

8 Comments

Filed under Blogging, NaBloPoMo, Writing

8 responses to “My Glorified Journal?

  1. Planning out my posts takes most of my energy, what to write, how to write it, what audience am I looking for. Sometimes it can get exhausting, also it can be hard to build up an active fan base who will tell you what they are looking for.

    • ClewisWrites

      Gah! I never even thought about my active fan base telling me what they are looking for! Maybe someday, people will tell me what they want to see? Who knows. I guess I’ll stick to my hodgepodge for now.

  2. I can relate to your post. It is so challenging sometimes to come up with a good ideas. Then figure out the best way to present my post. Then to figure out the direction and focus of my blog. It drains all my energy away. Then I think enjoy the process and just press publish. Enjoying the process of blogging gives me back some of my drained energy. So I guess it balances out.

    • ClewisWrites

      Oh I know! Once I figure out the post subject, I’m usually fine and the joy of writing takes over. In the end, I’m usually pretty happy with it. I just feel like right now, I’m all over the place, compared to the more serious bloggers who have their acts together! Someday I’ll get there!

  3. I have a really hard time trying to figure out what to write about as well. I just joined NaBloPoMo recently and it has really helped me a lot too!

    • ClewisWrites

      I wish I had found it sooner to be honest! It’s a great way to work those writing muscles and it’s helping me with my more creative writing projects too.

  4. It’s challenging to come up with new content “on the spot” try creating an editorial calendar. It will help you.

    • ClewisWrites

      Yeah, I have tried a calendar, but I get bored with it to be honest. Some days, I’m all for what’s scheduled. Then other days, I’m just not feeling it and I feel like that’s when it gets all weird on me. I’m going to try to stick to the calendar for a month and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

