My Real Secret of Energy Refills

I am a reality TV junkie.

There, I admit it.

When I feel like I’m fed up with life, I know I can always turn on Bravo and watch some form of (possibly scripted) drama going on in the lives of some over the top individual who can’t possibly live life like that every single day.  It just can’t possibly be their real life because it would take so much energy to live such a dramatic life.

I watch all the Housewives, except Orange County.  I know that they are the original ones but I really cannot handle them for some reason.  The rest play out like a badly acted telenovella and that says something.  They live in ridiculous homes.  They wear too much make up and put too much stock in designer things.  They schmooze and do the fake double cheek kiss.  Then they fight.  And when they fight, I feel relieved.  It’s like some kind of sick confirmation that even though they have all this material wealth, they still have issues.

Yes, I am fully aware that it  contributes to the downfall of our modern society.  But you know what, at least it’s not Honey Boo Boo!

These women are brave to put their lives “on display.”  They are all over tabloid magazines (which I do not read, in case you were wondering) and their lives play out real or fictitiously in front of those, like me, who watch.

I wish I could say I’m watching them as some part of elaborate sociological study of domesticated American women with too much wealth and free time on their hands, but I’m not.  I watch them to let my mind unwind.  I don’t have to think when I watch them.  I just sit back and pretend I’m in the room with some imaginary extended family that is exploding at a family gathering.  Sometimes, I wonder if that’s what happens in big families.  I had a big family when I was child but then things happened and well, thanks to Facebook, I’m slowly reconnecting at least on a virtual level.  I watch the housewives and wonder if I ever met them in person if it would end up like Tre and Melissa fighting or if it would be like Kyle and Kim full of resentment.  Or would it be more like Jacqueline and Caroline who have put the past behind them in the name of being family and enjoying what time they have with each other.  I will always wonder I suppose.  I wish I could go into more of it here, but I fear that again, dear reader, I would be turning you into my personal therapist and that you might just end up like the guy sitting next to Ted Striker.

One of the many unfortunate neighbors of Ted Striker on Airplane!

One of the many unfortunate neighbors of Ted Striker on Airplane!

The Housewives, as well as my newest obsession – the Shahs of Sunset, let me quiet my brain.  I can escape into their lavish lives and just recharge my batteries because it doesn’t really require any brain function to watch these shows.  I know some people turn to other means to get that sense of calm – yoga, wine, meditation, and other methods – but I’ll take my trashy TV. Every night, I send a Maazel to the Universe for Andy Cohen and his idea to showcase these amazingly excessive women.

I hope, dear readers, that you have not lost any respect for me.  When today’s NaBloPoMo prompt came up, I knew I had to spill my guilty pleasure because it’s how I restore my energy.  Please don’t judge me.  I promise I won’t judge you.

This post was written as part of the January 2013 NaBloPoMo.  The theme for this month is Energy.  Today’s prompt was “What is your favourite way to recharge when you feel drained of energy?”  Again, please don’t judge me – I really am a smart person who just happens to love trashy tv.  I promise.

8 Comments

Filed under Culture, NaBloPoMo, TV

8 responses to “My Real Secret of Energy Refills

  1. This may come as a shock, but I’ve never even watch a single episode of any of the Housewives! I admit though to watching 15 minutes of one Honey Boo Boo episode before cringing in disgust and changing the channel!

    • ClewisWrites

      You are braver than I. The commercials for Honey Boo Boo are enough to make me never want to even check it out. It scares me. And the worst thing is that I have had multiple people (some strangers and some neighbors) tell me that the Daughter looks a little like Honey Boo Boo. I don’t know whether to thank them for the compliment since she is a pageant winner or to hit them based on what I’ve seen in the commercials…

  2. I love reality TV, I do not watch much of it though. I will admit, the one show I watch consistently is coming back on for a new season this Sunday. There are no words to describe my excitement, lol.

    • ClewisWrites

      Care to share what show it is? I am excited for Sunday because the Biggest Loser is back with Jillian! Yay! And Downton Abbey is back too…which really is the one I cannot wait for!!

  3. My favorite reality show is Survivor. Right now, I am obsessed with Sons of Anarchy (not reality). Next on my list is Downton Abbey, glad to see you mentioned it – I hope it lives up to the hype!

  4. Hahaha! Though I don’t care much for most reality TV, I have been watching the entire series of Beverly Hills 90210 on Soap! I only got to see like the first 4 or 5 seasons when it originally aired and the *occasional* episode after that…I am up to season 8 or 9 now. It’s been awesome!

    Dawn

    • ClewisWrites

      I used to love the original series though I had to sneak watching it because I wasn’t supposed to watch it. Were you a Brandon or a Dylan fan? Kelly or Brenda? Dawson’s Creek was another guilty pleasure at least the first few seasons…then it got weird.

Leave a Reply

