Can You Bottle Some of That for Me?

Energy is something I pretend I don’t have.  Why do I pretend I don’t have it?  I am not totally sure but that is why I am recommitting (for the millionth time) to my lifestyle change.  I just need to find the energy.

As a kid, I remember having   a lot of energy.  I would stay outside all day and into the night, riding my bike everywhere, running around, playing.  I could wake up easily at 6 am without the help of an alarm. I never thought about where my energy came from, it was just there.  Just oozing from every bit of me was that childhood energy that I now watch the Daughter enjoy.

Now, I find that I am more productive between the hours of 9pm and midnight.  But my productivity during that time is not physical, it’s more mental work, writing, and planning the next day, and of course playing my games.  It doesn’t require the energy that I feel I am now missing in my life.

The solution is simple on paper, a little harder in practice.  I know that if I get moving more again, I will have the energy to get moving more.  I know that once I get moving, I will want to keep moving.  The energy from moving will keep my mind moving.  Will give me new avenues to explore.  It’s hard to not have the energy I want to have.  It’s hard to make the time for the steps that I need to regain my energy.  I simply have to choose my hard.

So on this first day of 2013, I’m making a promise to myself to have more energy.  More energy to play with the Daughter.  More energy to have fun adventures with the Family.  More energy to be me, the real me.  I’m nervous and excited all at once, but I am going to hold on to that memory of riding my bike and swimming and just living life to get me through the hard parts.

This year is going to be a grand adventure!

jumping

19 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Healthy Me - Yay!, NaBloPoMo, Random Thoughts, Writing

19 responses to “Can You Bottle Some of That for Me?

  1. Love that second picture! I’d love to have more energy for my kids also 🙂

    • ClewisWrites

      I’m using that as one of my motivation pictures. Some day I’m going to do that at sunrise either on the beach or at the top of a mountain…hokey as it may sound…I just think it would be exhilarating!

  2. Kat

    Finding the energy can be difficult. I am about ready to start working out at least three times a week with my husband and I am unsure of how it will go. I guess we both just need to take it one step at a time.

  3. I agree! 2013 is going to be an amazing year. I really want to create more unique memories and less repetition!

  4. I find myself on the opposite end. I have energy to do all the things I want, I just most of the time choose to use that energy on less productive things. I want to be more active outside of the house, but find so many things in the house that must be done and plus the neighborhood I am in now is not really conductive to or safe for outdoor activities. I’m hoping that once we move and have a decent size yard the kids will be more apt to play around with mom and help me be more active in their loves, other than buy me this and drive me here!!

    • ClewisWrites

      Yes, time then becomes the issue. Here’s to 2013 – the year where we make time for our truly important things!

  5. I am right there with you! It is a cycle of being tired or a cycle of creating energy. As soon as we make an invention where we can work the computer purely from thought then we can work and work out all day!! Unitl then my but gets wider sitting in this desk chair and my mind gets weary too. Good luck to us making changes to find our energy this year!!!!

  6. Yes, I find that the less I move, the more my mind seems to atrophy. When I have difficulty focusing, I try to go out for a walk. I find that by the time I get back in, I’m clear-headed and ready to focus.

  7. I am most productive at night, too…especially on my blog. I mean, it’s 10:30 pm where I am, and here I am…commenting on blogs, lol. 😀

    Dawn

  8. Best of luck with the year – it’s hard to stay focused, maybe you should schedule this to reblog every couple of months to help remind us all!!!

  9. “I know that if I get moving more again, I will have the energy to get moving more.” Yes to this! I find that whatever I do, whether it’s forcing myself to do the smallest thing, like clean out a kitchen drawer, counts as moving. If i can do that one little thing, then I have energy to do the next little thing.

  10. Please join us for a Friday Flash Blog, where you can share your favorite posting of the week and see what others are talking about at http://www.fridayflashblog.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

