The Last Week of 2012

The world did not end.

Some say that the Mayans just ran out of room.  Some say that the Doctor saved us as he seems to every Christmas.  Whatever it was, we’re all still here.

The Doctor does always seem to find something trying to take over the world at Christmas...

The Doctor does always seem to find something trying to take over the world at Christmas…

The new year is closing in fast.  The news and magazines and Pinterest, and any other thing you look at is going to talk about the best of 2012, tell us all it’s time to make our resolutions, tell us that it’s time to plan Easter.  I did get a present from the Easter Bunny – a small packet of Cadbury candy eggs.  They are on sale at Stop and Shop you know, and were out on Christmas Eve ready for sale!

I try not to gripe too much but this year, I really can’t help but notice how rushed we all were into our holidays.  I love flipping through Pinterest but I feel like the pressure to start getting into the next holiday is always pushed on me there first.  Then it’s the tv commercials.  Black Friday started the week before Thanksgiving this year and Thanksgiving itself was quite a blur.  Does that mean tonight we’ll start seeing commercials about Easter chocolates?  Valentines?

At any rate, I should quit my griping because Christmas was good.  We are all pretty sick with whatever this sinus thing is but the day was good nonetheless.  I am in Christmas withdrawal though.  It was so wonderful to watch The Daughter wake up and discover what Santa had left for her.  Then the non-sick family went on to Rhode Island while the sick group stayed home and kind of crashed.  When the non-sick family came home from Rhode Island, we did do our annual Peppermint Pig tradition where we say something we wish for the coming year.  I did not make a serious wish because by the time it got to me, we had all been laughing too hard but I do feel like I should have some kind of plan of attack for the new year.   So, my list is as follows:

1) Do the #26Acts in memory of the Newtown.  Before Christmas, money was a little tight so now that the holidays are over, I think the Daughter and I can do some kindness for others in the coming days.  I also think it’s important to carry this one throughout the year.  They should not just be one month or one week of kindness, they should be done every day.  When I finish my dedicated #26Acts, I may do them again and again…

2) Finish the book I started in November.  I am so close to finishing it.  I just kind of put it on hold for December so I could focus on shopping and wrapping and family events.  I need to finish it.  I need to edit it.  I need to draft a query letter.  I need to do it so I don’t live a life of “what ifs.”

3) I need to get back on track with the weight loss.  I’m tired of not looking good in holiday pictures.  I’m tired of not having the clothing I want to have because they don’t make it affordable for fat people to dress fashionably.  I’m tired of being fat.  Thanks Brother #3 for the heart rate monitor…should help me with this goal.  My goal for 2013 is to lose at least another 50 lbs.  I’m shooting low so that I don’t disappoint myself but this coming Thursday will count as my start weight since it’s the last weigh in of 2012.  If I go above that 50 lb goal, then yay me! Just getting back on track will be amazing.

scale

4) I need to be better about communicating with friends and family that I don’t see enough.  I tend to withdraw this time of year.  Maybe it’s the lack of sunlight and warm days.  Maybe it’s the holiday doldrums.  Maybe I’m just weird.  But I am going to commit to my friends and family to be better about phone calls and actual in person visits as opposed to liking photos on Facebook and instant messenger.  Maybe it means more traveling or adventures.  That’s kind of what I’m hoping this one turns into!

So.  I’m going to start with those four.  I think that they are good to start with.  I am thinking that as the week moves on and I get closer to another year, I will probably try to make a longer list of more things I want to accomplish this year.  I like lists.  They help me see that I actually have accomplished something.

What are you goals for 2013?

2 Comments

Filed under Healthy Me - Yay!, Random Thoughts

2 responses to “The Last Week of 2012

  1. You have wonderful goals for 2013! I started a Day Zero Project rather than resolutions in January 2012. It’s worked very well for me and I’m keeping pace with it. You can read about it here: http://naptimeismytime.com/day-zero-project

    I am also participating in the #26Acts, my vision is to do one every two weeks, and to finish on 12/14/13. We’ll see how that goes, I need to plan out what I want to do to ensure that I make it work!

    Happy 2013!

    • ClewisWrites

      I love that Day Zero Project! I may have to expand my list into something similar. I like how you broke it up like that into the categories and made it more specific.

Leave a Reply

