“In a hole the ground there lived a Hobbit.”

The Husband and I saw “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” on Saturday night.  I was happy to visit Middle Earth again.

There was so much talk about the film format.  To be honest, I thought it looked amazing!  We saw the movie in Real 3-D (you know as opposed to fake 3-D) and I actually was glad to have paid the astronomical ticket price for once.  I am not sure though if that was the format that was so controversial.  I know that it’s only screening in 450 cities with that high-speed format, though I highly doubt that little old Cape Cod is one of those places.  Hell, we can’t even get real sized Walmart built here, why would we get the high-speed movie?  Though I do have a bone to pick with the makers of the 3-D glasses.  Some day, can someone PLEASE create 3-d glasses that fit over my real glasses.  Even after delicately stretching the glasses out, they still squeeze my head and sometimes give a headache. It would just be nice to realize not everyone wears contacts.  Just sayin.

The Husband and I are still not totally sure why there needs to be three movies for one book but after tonight, I will be ok with it.  The amount of detail in the movie was fantastic. The first movie covers the beginning to just past Bilbo’s escape from Gollum.  The ending of this first film of the Hobbit trilogy definitely left us wanting more.

The dwarfs!  How I love the dwarfs! The elves are beautiful but the dwarfs know how to have fun!  From the first ring of Bilbo’s front doorbell, they introduced a lightheartedness to the quest at hand and provided many moments of laughter between the tossing of Bilbo’s mother’s china to the teasing Bilbo about the mountain trolls, they made me laugh.  I have to say that I sometimes got them mixed up and that may be because it’s been SOOOO long since I read the Hobbit.  If you’re like me and you might lose track of the joyful little dwarfs, here is a great cheat sheet:

Image of LOTRProject.com

Image from LOTRProject.com

I definitely would recommend going to see this film.  It was a fun beginning to the journey that Bilbo goes on and the spirit of adventure leaps from the screen into your heart.  I cannot wait for the next movie, even though it’s a whole year before it comes out, but it will be well worth the wait.

2 Comments

Filed under Movies, Reviews

2 responses to ““In a hole the ground there lived a Hobbit.”

  1. I have not read the stories, so I am looking forward to seeing this movie. Love the actor from Sherlock Holmes BBC. I am glad to hear it was well done.

    • ClewisWrites

      Martin Freeman was fantastic as Bilbo! I also love him in Sherlock but must admit, my favorite film with him is The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Love him in that role!

Leave a Reply

