Burn Out

All month long, I’ve been following the prompts from NaBloPoMo and have really been amazed at how much I have had to really dig to discover my true feelings about the questions that have been asked.  Since this month has focused on work, a lot of my answers have been in relation to my experiences as a parent; how wonderful it is, how hard it is.  But today, I really struggled with the prompt: “What do you think would be the hardest job for you to do?”

This job may also be up there in the "worst job" category.

This job may also be up there in the “worst job” category.

I tried to think of what job I would have the hardest time doing.  My first thought as defense attorney because I don’t know what I would do if the person was really guilty and I had to defend them?  Then my second thought was family/divorce attorney because what would I do if I had a parent who wanted to subpoena their own child because they didn’t want to have to pay for their college?  I suppose that’s the reason I didn’t score too highly (I got a 145 and that was without studying the guide books that you can buy) on my LSAT when I took it five years ago…

Then I started thinking about police officers.  I don’t know that I would be able to do that job either because sometimes, you are called to some hairy family disputes or fights.  Or worse yet, you get your leg broken by a bunch of high school kids.  That crosses that profession off the list.

Even with these clear front-runners for “job I would never want to have,” I think there is still one that really would burn me out faster than anything.  Social workers, especially social workers who work with children have earned my deepest respect.  These professionals face amazing circumstances day in and day out.  They do not get the glory of big paychecks or even good funding for their jobs.  They work with some of the saddest cases and sometimes see things that most of us wish we never had to even know existed.

Yes, there are social workers who do get to see good things too, but I think that for me, not being able to help them all would be too hard.  I would want to help them all. I think that in the end, I would burn out and it would not be the good kind of burn out.  There’s just a lot of people who need help and are in “the system”  and these social workers do their best to help them all but there are just so many people who need the help.

So, if you know someone who is a social worker, thank them. Thank them for trying to help people.  Thank them for giving themselves to a cause that will help society.  Thank them for just being a kind person, because let’s be honest, you’d have to be kind in order to want to help so many people.

This post was written as part of the December NaBloPoMo series with the theme of Work.  Check out other blogs and see what other’s had to say about today’s prompt: “What do you think would be the hardest job for you to do?”

Leave a comment

Filed under NaBloPoMo, Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

