Confessions of a Trivia Junkie

I have a confession.

I am a trivia junkie.

I read Trivial Pursuit cards.  I read Mental Floss from cover to cover, twice and then I check the website once a day.  I watch Jeopardy and try to beat the contestants to the answer.  I take the Jeopardy test every time it is offered.  Speaking of which, next month is usually when they offer the online test…I should make sure I’m signed up for it.

I have always had this ability to remember the most useless trivia.  I suppose it’s a stupid human trick or a cool party trick.  I’m not sure which.

I mean who really needs to remember that  when a baseball player hits a home run, he (or she) runs 20 yards longer than goal to goal on a football field?  Or that the guy who invented the Pringles can had his ashes put in a can when he died in 2008?

Looking for a national park in Delaware? You won’t find one because Delaware is the only state without a national park.

A group of rhinos is a crash; a group of crows is a murder.

A Crash of Rhinos

A Crash of Rhinos

I really could go on forever with the useless things that fill my brain.  I guess that’s my specialty: useless trivia.  I kind of enjoy it though.  Lots of situations can benefit from useless trivia.

Parties where you don’t know a lot of people, dates, dinner conversation, blog posts…useless trivia is fun and it’s even more fun when you find someone who has a new nugget of information for you to learn!

I don’t know why this makes me so excited, but it does.  So now, you know my secret.  I’m a trivia junkie and proud of it!

What’s your favorite piece of useless trivia?

I’m participating in NaBloPoMo DecemberCheck it out! 

2 Comments

Filed under NaBloPoMo, Random Thoughts, Writing

2 responses to “Confessions of a Trivia Junkie

  1. Favorite trivia? That’s hard! 🙂 Like you, I’m a bit of a trivia junky. I’d have to go with names of common things… Like how the dot over an i is a tittle. 🙂

    • ClewisWrites

      I never knew that the dot had a name! It shouldn’t surprise me though, everything has a name. Thanks for teaching me something new today!

Leave a Reply

