NaNoWriMo Has Taken Over My Life!

I have never written so furiously before.  My fingers have not flown on a keyboard like this in years.  It feels good.  It’s liberating.  It’s amazing how pushing yourself to write a little every day keeps those creative juices flowing.

If only it were as simple as drinking a juice box!

The ideas have been flooding me and I can’t seem to get them out of my fingers and on to the keyboard fast enough.  Why, then, am I so far behind on my goal of 50,000 words by the end of November?

I suppose Life happens.  I suppose having a holiday in the mix didn’t help either.  I am going to hit that 50,000 word goal.  I like this story.  It may not be anything earth-shatteringly new but I like it.  It’s fun and it creeps me out.  Hopefully it will creep other people out too.

I need to finish it and re-work some of it.  I haven’t felt this confident about anything I’ve ever written, even if I still secretly feel like it doesn’t live up to the standard I would like to see myself at (there’s the perfectionist in me rearing her hideously disfigured face).

“Untitled (perfectionist)” by Sarah Hobbs – Check out her other work here http://www.solomonprojects.com/artistpage/hobbs/index.html

Even if it’s not up to my personal standard, at least in four days I will be able to say that I wrote 50,000 words, the average length of a novel.  With any luck, I will be able to say it in 3 more days!

Then the real fun begins.  Fixing plot holes, re-writing scenes so they make more sense, checking continuity.  Then, I may just try to submit it to a few publishing houses.  What the hell right?  I want to wall-paper my craft room with rejection notices and then hang the framed acceptance letter on top of them.  I’ll take a picture of it and pin it on Pinterest, it could become the newest design trend for struggling published writers.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Random Thoughts, Writing

Leave a Reply

