Halloween and the Eve of Insanity

It was another successful year of trick-or-treating for the daughter.  This year, we did the whole neighborhood, for the first time, and she made out like a bandit.  She even had a few people recognize who she was dressed as, which of course sent her over the moon!  The Husband even got into the Halloween spirit in his Lucha Libre mask.

Now the challenge will be to ration out the candy so that we don’t all gain 10 lbs in a week!

Now, dear reader, you may be thinking that my title “…and the Eve of Insanity” refers to Halloween.   Sadly, you would be mistaken.  Tomorrow is November 1st.  For those who practice, it’s All Saint’s Day, a Holy Day of Obligation.  As a kid, I always thought it was the day we celebrated the saints we can’t remember, which it kind of is.  Then as I got older, I realized why it was placed the day after Halloween.  I have to admit, Samhain had a pretty cool story.  But I digress…

So, aside from the initial thought of “Where the [bleep] did this year go and how the hell is it November already?!”, I am about to make my November one month of intense writing.  I am doing it gladly and willingly, too.

November 1st marks the start of NaNoWriMo.  I mentioned it last week but here we are.  It’s time to start writing 1,667 words a day.  As I look over my outline, my inner editor is already rattling in her cage.  Little does she know, I have thrown away the key right now and am going to probably need to sound proof the room in my mind she is locked in.  Maybe even gag her.  She’s kind of a loudmouthed know-it-all.

So, I’ll try to keep you updated as to my word count and maybe even post an excerpt or two of what comes from this little month of writing insanity.  I keep saying insanity but, I love it.  I just hope that my inner editor, let’s name her Myrtle, will keep her loud mouth shut!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Writing

Leave a Reply

