13 Days and So Much to Say

I have been a poor blogger lately.  Nothing for 13 whole days!  Well…that’s about to change because these past 13 days have been a whirlwind of adventure and there’s a lot to catch up on.

In the coming days, look for:

Product Reviews

Book Reviews

Crafting updates/Holiday Crafts and Traditions

NaNoWriMo updates since November is practically tomorrow!

For those who are not familiar with it, NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month which is the month of November.  There is a great organization that hosts a “contest” for writers.  The goal each year is to produce a 50,000 word novel.  It doesn’t have to be the next War and Peace, but it should have a plot that one can follow.  I see it as a way to produce a solid first draft.  It’s a great way for writers to work on putting that inner-editor to sleep for a month and just let the words flow.  It’s fun.  Lots of places do have groups that meet religiously each week for write-ins and word wars – another thing that was hard to do last year with a 2 year old because they were always held during the bedtime routine.

Image: NaNoWriMo.org

Last year, I sadly did not make the 50,000 word goal.  I hit a sad and pitiful 8,057 words.  I wish I could make up some excuse but in reality, I got lazy and just stopped making time at night.  This year, I am determined to at least make it to the 25,000 word mark.  I would love to say that I can hit the 50,000 word mark but I’m trying to under-promise and over-deliver.

I have an outline that’s almost complete.  I have a few ideas that are rattling around too so we’ll see what ends up spilling out of my brain and onto my computer.  I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t really excited for it.  It’s just a fun thing to try to do if you like writing.  If you enjoy storytelling, maybe you should give it a shot.  You never know what could come from it.  Plus, some real, honest-to-god writers participate and you can follow their progress while you “compete” to get to that 50,000 word goal.

Ok…off to take a walk and a bike ride with the Daughter who is practicing her pedaling in the hopes that Santa will bring her a “big-girl” bike.  60 days as of today!   GAHHHH!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Announcements, Books, Crafts, Writing

Leave a Reply

