The Perfect Fall Soup – Butternut Squash and Apple Soup

 

As much as I love the summer fruits and vegetables, I think the harvest of fall flavors is what really excites me.  The squashes, the apples, the pears, the eggplants.  All of them are just so delicious.  What makes these flavors even better is when you can transform them into a flavorful soup that warms up the cool autumn nights.

We went apple picking a week ago today and stopped at a few farm stands. We came home with a giant sack of apples and a few great freshly grown butternut squash (among other vegetables!) and I knew that we had to do something with the apples so that we didn’t lose any of them  by not eating them quickly enough.  My mom learned this great recipe from a neighbor for Butternut Squash soup.  We’ve had it quite a few times and last year, we did it with pear and it was delicious.  This time, I knew that I had heard of people doing it with apples so I wanted to give it a try.

My new favorite vegetable!

First, I quartered the butternut squash, removed the seeds, and loosely wrapped it in aluminum foil and baked at 375○ F for one hour.  Once it was cooked, I scooped out the cooked squash and set it aside.

In a large (4 quart) saucepan, saute one onion (diced), two apples (peeled and sliced), and two tablespoons of butter for five minutes (until the onions are translucent).

Apples, onions, and garlic sauteing. Smelled so wonderful!

Add 1 clove minced garlic and cook for another minute or so.

Then add the squash and 32 oz (1 quart) of chicken stock and bring to a boil.  Turn the heat on low and let it sit for 20 minutes or so.  Once it’s cooked for about 20 minutes, put into a blender or, use a hand blender if you have one, and blend it until smooth. If you use a regular blender, return it back to the pot and add 1/2 cup of cream (I use light cream) if you want and stir it in.

All the ingredients simmering on low – stirring occasionally.

I also add 1 tsp (or more to your liking) of cinnamon.  Nutmeg works well too but I found that the cinnamon worked very nicely!

Serve warm and enjoy how wonderful the taste of fall can be!  I didn’t take a picture of how it looked when it was finished because I was too excited to enjoy a bowl for myself!  Next time, I will be sure to grab a shot.  I am proud, though, that I was able to grab some snaps while I was cooking.  That is a small victory for me and my blogging – it’s the small things.

For Weight Watchers Points Plus, I plugged in and got a very friendly 4 PP per 1 cup serving.  1 cup of this soup (when left a little thick) is more than filling!

For MyFitnessPal.com, I got the following nutritional info:

127 calories

19g carbs

6g fat

2g protein

2g fiber

7g sugar

A perfect meal for a cool fall day and it’s perfect for those who are trying to eat with their health in mind!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, New Recipes

Leave a Reply

