Book Review: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead

One of my brothers gave me this book as  Christmas gift.  I was little surprised to be honest because it wasn’t a book I really thought I would ever read.  But in my effort to read 100 books this year, which I am sadly not even close to but am optimistic in the next three and a half months to make up some ground, I put this one dutifully in the “to-read” pile.  It recently came up to the top so it meant it was time to learn what I could for the impending Zombie-pocalypse.

The Daughter picked up my book and read it me. Her version began “Once upon a time there was a princess…”

Brooks treats this as a very serious and real threat and the book reads as a serious survival manual.  From weapon analysis and recommendations (I will be buying a crowbar in the near future and maybe will consider learning how to shoot a rifle) to how to live in the undead world, this book covers every base.

When On the Run:

“Traveling light is essential to your journey.  Before packing anything, ask yourself, ‘Do I really need this?’  Once you’ve compiled your gear, go down the list and ask that question again.  Once you’ve done that, do it again.  Of course, traveling light does not mean just holstering a .45, grabbing some beef jerky and a water bottle, and heading down the road.  Equipment will be vital, more so than in any other scenario where you are holed up in a place – a prison, a school, your own home – where supplies are in abundance.  The equipment you take with you may be all you have.  You will carry your hospital, storeroom, and armory on your back.  The following is a list of standard equipment you will need for a successful journey. Specific gear such as alpine skis, sunblock, or mosquito netting should be added according to your environment.”  – The Zombie Survival Guide, p 101

Brooks takes this all very seriously [and quite tongue-in-cheek] and provides the reader with every list imaginable.  The tips are invaluable and at times, I found myself surveying my house for the items listed.  How does one go about making a bicycle powered generator?  What canned goods do I want to stockpile?  Do we have a rope ladder for after we destroy the staircase?

 

Now this house would be a pretty awesome place to stay during a siege. Click on the picture to see more photos of this cool place.

 

The real fun of this book though, comes at the end when Brooks “compiles” a list of recorded attacks.  The list goes back to 60,000 B.C. and up through 2002 in St. Thomas in the USVI.  Since this book has a copyright of 2003 , I’m sure that a re-release of the book will be sure to include any other additional attacks in the last ten years.

With the Halloween season soon upon us, this book definitely would help get you in the mood for the ghouls and scary things that keep you up at night.  Or, if you think that we may be facing the zombie-pocalypse in the near future, you should definitely buy this book and try to prepare yourself as much as possible.

 

 

The next book in the pile is Ursula K. LeGuin’s The Earthsea Quartet.  I am kind of excited because I’ve been told that she is a master at the fantasy/sci-fi genre.  What little I have read by her was excellent (The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas) and from what I have read so far, this too will be excellent!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “Book Review: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead

  1. Carol

    Cathy, I love the Sci-fi/fantasy genre, let me know how you like that book. I’m always looking for something good to read.

    • ClewisWrites

      It was a fun read, Carol. It read like a “manual” and at times like a school book but if you like sci-fi/fantasy and really enjoy zombies in particular (think Walking Dead), then you will really get a kick out of this book!

      So far, the LeGuin book is fantastic. I can’t wait to write that review! I have a feeling it’s going to be a great read when I’m finally finished with it!

      Thanks for stopping by and reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

