Mission Completion: One Rag Quilt for One Satisfied Customer!

I finished it.  It’s not a major accomplishment because it’s really a small little quilt but it’s finished nonetheless! (Sorry about the somewhat blurry pics!)

The Daughter and her new quilt!

It was a fun little project.  I used her old baby receiving blankets so it really is one of the softest quilts ever! The top is fraying nicely because of the cotton squares.  It’s going to look great once it really gets a little more frayed on top.

The Front

I had a helper and I’m sure that’s why the pattern on the front is a little off.  I didn’t notice it until this morning.  I guess I was just so focused on finishing that I somehow missed it.  It adds character though so I’m okay with it.  Beside, the Daughter isn’t too upset about it.  Just my OCD is a little bothered by it.  Oh well.  It could look a lot worse!

The back ended up being a little different from the original pattern called for only because I didn’t have enough squares for the back.  So my improvisation was to just make larger squares and patchwork them across the back.

The Back

I had slightly different receiving blankets for the back but thankfully they sell those soft blankets in sets of three and usually in some kind of matching color scheme so they all look good together.

The Daughter has spent the morning with the quilt wrapped around her, just enjoying it so much which is good enough for me.

Using the machine did make for quick work and did make me feel a little better about the construction.  I don’t know why I always doubt my hand stitching abilities but I do and for some reason, I feel like the machine makes it more durable.

I think this little quilt will become the daycare nap time blanket.  The Daughter’s daycare does not allow fleece blankets so this cotton blanket will fit the bill perfectly!

An example of a Sampler Quilt

I think I’m going to start figuring out what is needed for the sampler quilt I’m going to tackle next.  That one is going to be a lot more intense and a lot more time-consuming but I’m excited to do it!  I need to really work on my skills.  My cutting skills in particular.  I guess I know a few things I’ll be asking for at Christmas!

It will be fun though and I’m excited for it.  It’s always fun for me to learn something new and actually have something to show for it in the end.  Who knows, maybe I’ll enter one in the Barnstable County Fair some day, though this past year, there were some pretty amazing quilts in the exhibition house.   Either way, it’s a fun hobby and it keeps me from grazing through the kitchen at night so that’s a MAJOR plus in my book.

I keep thinking of when I quit smoking.  I had to relearn how to do things in a way.  Like starting my car did not mean lighting a cigarette.  It’s the same thing with my relationship with food.  I need to relearn that even though I’m bored or stressed about something, I do not need to eat.   I need to do something else.  Quilting at night is perfect.  So is writing. It’s something that makes me forget about the kitchen.  I wish I could explain why I feel the need to eat when I get bored or stressed.  I am not sure I am ready to put that into words or even if I can put it into words now but, I can say that I’m happy to have a new hobby that will help me battle my bulge during those nighttime problem times.

6 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Healthy Me - Yay!, My Relationship with Food, Quilting

6 responses to “Mission Completion: One Rag Quilt for One Satisfied Customer!

  1. It came out great! You are very talented. I have very little patience for sewing and I haven’t been near a sewing machine since 8th grade home-ec!

    • ClewisWrites

      Thanks! I hadn’t really had the chance to sew anything in years and then I got this machine for Christmas last year and I’ve been doing a lot of small projects to get used to it again. It’s been fun!

  2. Great little project! It is perfect! Keep up the great work and I hope to continue to follow your blog.

  3. My mother created one of these for me later i life with all my old swimming shirts. It is such a special gift. I have been collecting my son’s onesiesthat were handmade at my shower as well as other pieces to make one for him someday! Such a fantastic idea!

    • ClewisWrites

      Thanks for the kind words! I am saving some of her t-shirts too from different things, like my brother’s wedding in Mexico where we all got matching shirts and other things that she has gone to and hope one day to do a t-shirt blanket for her. They are a fun way to keep those memories!

Leave a Reply

