The (Unofficial) End of Summer

Another Labor Day has come and gone.  It was a perfect weekend.  A day of family tennis one day, relaxing on the back patio, picnic lunches, ice cream cones, making progress on some projects, and just enjoying the days.

Mint Chip is second only to Mint Oreo

Family tennis day was fun.  It was the first time I actually pushed myself after surgery.  I am feeling it today, sadly.  It’s like overnight, I became an 85 year old woman with creaks and aches.  It’s just one more reminder why after this blog post, I’m going to finish logging my food day in my WW journal and on MFP.  It was fun though.  I got to use my ball hopper for the first time – it’s the little things for me.

Today we had a very nice, though chilly, picnic dinner at South Cape Beach.  The Daughter got to burn off even more energy running around after she had her dinner.  Then home we came so I could keep chipping away at this:

The top – it’s draped over a chair so it looks like it’s only three blocks long.

It is almost done.  The top is done except for the fraying of the seams.  I didn’t have enough squares to do it as it was written in the blog I found the project on so I’m doing my own twist on it.  I’m going to do the back as larger squares, the size of 4 small squares, and make a patchwork back.  It will look a little different but I think it will be good. I love how soft it is.  I had saved all of the Daughter’s receiving blankets and they were sitting in her closet.  I thought this project was perfect for using them. I figure that once it’s done, she can bring it to pre-school as her nap blanket.  Did I mention how soft it is?  I did, but really, it’s so soft!

The Daughter wanted to be my “passer” – the person who hands me the next square as I was pinning things together.  Needless to say, I let her do it – how could I say no?  She sat quietly next to me watching me sew, occasionally asking me questions only a 3 year old would think of: “Mommy, how does the machine sew?  Mommy, do you need to pin it there? Mommy, why are you using this square?”  I couldn’t help but smile as I answered each question because I knew in the empty chair across from me, my Aunt was sitting and smiling at the two of us, sewing and quilting together.

I used the machine for this one which really made it quick sewing.  I think the next project I’m eying ( a beginner’s sampler quilt) is going to be a little tougher to machine sew.  I could be wrong, but we’ll see.  I picked up two quilting books at an estate sale the other day for a dollar and they are both fantastic!  So in addition to the Big Book of Quilting that was my Aunt’s, I now have two more books to compliment it and add to my library of quilting square patterns.

This book has the pattern for my next project

Now that my machine and I are friends, I think between quilting, I’m going to attempt another dress or maybe pjs for the munchkin.  I’ve been diving into all kinds of sewing blogs and they all have some fantastic ideas and I’m getting excited to try some of them out.

It’s a rewarding feeling to make something out of nothing.  If you have never done it, why not try?  You never know what may come of it.

1 Comment

Filed under Crafts, Quilting

One response to “The (Unofficial) End of Summer

  1. I too feel like an 85 year old today! I drank last night for the first time in a LONG time. I didn’t drink that much and I wasn’t wasted. Today, I feel aches and pains and all kinds of “oldness.” Our bodies aren’t what they used to be when we were young…er! 🙂 Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

