Writing Feels Good

I just was writing that story I mentioned a long time ago.  It’s kind of cool how it’s developing.  It’s like they are coming alive. So many authors that I have admired always talk about how their characters come alive and it’s as if they are immersed into the character’s world. I kind of feel that way right now.  It’s a pretty cool feeling.

It was no surprise to  me that when I started college out as an Economics major it was interesting and all but, it just didn’t feel right.  Then, there was that whole phase where I kind of lost who I was and made some interesting life decisions.  But everyone has a path to follow and everyone is where they need to be when they need to be there.  Taking two years off to not worry, to go a little crazy – it was part of my path.  The people I met, the friends I made, even though some stayed and some left, they all are part of who I am.

When I’m writing characters, I like to really think about where they came from, who they met.  It’s fun to write a little outline of the character telling me about their family, their job, their apartment, their favorite music, favorite books.  For me, it’s all so important to a character.  When I switched to a Writing major, the creative classes were my favorite because we got to spend hours talking about the development of the characters: the dialogue, the way they interact with each other, and how they develop the story with the slightest raise of an eyebrow.  It’s exciting to me.  It’s why I have been working on it again.  It’s a dream – a hard dream but that just means I need to work hard to make it happen.

Here’s a clip of what I was working on tonight:

At 12:30 that night, I was still trying to figure out who could possibly be coming to speak with us.  I even had called my mother to see if she might want to take a guess.  Sadly, she reminded me that she could not see the future.  I sat playing a game on Facebook, puzzled over it and bothered by the fact that I was so intrigued by it.  This was the highlight of my week, a stranger coming to talk to me about job opportunities.  I finished the last bite of my Ben and Jerry’s and flipped the tv to reruns of 90s television. 

Late night television was usually not very good.  Talk shows, reruns, and bad movies.  Then there were the infomercials.  I spent three weeks with insomnia right after I got laid off and I think I saw every infomercial that was on.  I came scarily close to buying one of each too, just to see if it would work.  Lack of funds was the only thing preventing my humble abode from turning into the infomercial test home.   There’s a thought, maybe I should see if they need testers for infomercial products.  I should look into that.

As I flipped to another channel during the commercial, my cell phone chimed with a new text message.  I checked the clock again.  12:43 am.  I grabbed the phone and rolled my eyes when I saw who it was.

“Wanna buy some vodka.”  The text read.

“Not if you were the last man on earth.  How did you get my cell?” I furiously typed back.

I stomped into the kitchen to throw away the empty ice cream container while I waited for the reply.  Who would give Camden my phone number?  Even better, why would they give Camden my phone number?  Yes, we knew each other but really, I didn’t want to know him outside of the unemployment class. 

“Sylvie gave it to me.  Hope you’re not mad.  Coffee?”

I sighed.  She really was in love with him.  That’s the only reason she would have given him my cell phone.  I was intrigued, though, why he wanted coffee with me at this hour of the night. 

It’s up to page 14 now.  That’s exciting stuff.  I did a lot more outlining tonight too which is good.  I had done a ton of outlining on little pieces of post-it notes and had them in order in a book I was using to develop the notes a little further before going to write.  The outline has actually been very useful for me so I think I will keep working with it. 

In case you were wondering what colors you might want to outline with.

I think I’m going to give NaNoWriMo a stab again this year.  It’s intense but I think that this year, I can do it.  I can come up with 50,000 words. Last year I came up with 15,000 then kind of gave up because life was happening and I just wasn’t feeling inspired.  November is a few months away so I think that I have some time to work with what I’ve got going now and then start thinking about what to write in November.  Good times.

I guess the point of my little rambling tonight is that you should always chase your dream. How else can you die with no regrets?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Writing

Leave a Reply

