High-Protein, Low-Fat – Other than Chicken…What is Left?

I had my gallbladder removed on Friday.  Fun times.  Not really.  I ended up having to spend the night in the hospital for observation.  Just wasn’t well enough to come home.  Today is day 4 of recovery which is good.  I’m feeling a little better and less sore.

The discharge orders read “Low Fat, Hi Protein no added salt diet.”  Yes it’s the way I’ve been trying to eat for the most part.  But after so many chicken dinners and fish dinners, a girl gets kind of tired of it.  Before the gallstones issues, I was following WW but that gave me a little more leeway in terms of the low-fat part.  If I wanted to have something that had a little bit of fat for one meal, it wasn’t the end of the world.  Now, well…it’s not advised.

These foods are all a big No-no!

So, I come to the internet to find more suggestions for low-fat, high protein, low sodium diet choices that won’t leave me bored to tears when it comes time for dinner. I’m okay with oatmeal for breakfast every day.  I’m okay with the same lunch every day.  Dinner though, is where I look for the variety.

My list of food items for dinner currently include:

What I should be eating (minus the beef)

 

Eggs

Chicken

Turkey

Fish

 

 

Now the challenge is to come up with some different recipes or new recipes that don’t leave me bored. It’s a bit whiney of me, I know but I find myself cooking these things the same way every time. I think part of my problem is that since I haven’t been feeling 100%, I haven’t been able to really think of anything new.  And the additional challenge is that the Husband doesn’t eat eggs or fish and isn’t a huge fan of chicken.  I have given up on trying to cook for him because unless it’s beef, he won’t touch it, no matter what anyone says.  So, last night we had pasta with chicken and vegetables (no oil).  The night before that, we had chicken.  Tonight, I’m going to say fish.  Not sure how or what kind yet, but we’ll see.

If you have any suggestions, please feel free to share.  I’m falling into a food rut!

7 Comments

Filed under Food, New Recipes, Weight Loss

7 responses to “High-Protein, Low-Fat – Other than Chicken…What is Left?

  1. jen

    Just made these quinoa pancakes (sans blueberries) which I thought were pretty yummy – http://www.soapqueen.com/recipes/banana-quinoa-spelt-whole-wheat-pancakes/. If I knew more about tofu, I’d be all over it since that’s super high protein (although possibly not low sodium after you prep it). If you can get your hands on faux ground meat, it’s excellent in tacos, etc. I’m terrible with meal planning, so not much help for you there!

    • ClewisWrites

      I love blueberries and bananas so those sound pretty good. I would have never thought to use quinoa in pancakes. They must be a little grainy but still good I would imagine! Thanks for the idea and thanks for reading! Have a great day! 🙂

  2. I’m doing the Dukan diet at the minute, which is also low fat, high protein, so you could check out some of my diet recipes. You might find you can eat pork fillet too, well trimmed it’s only about 3% fat. I also cook lots of things in my slow cooker in sauces or stock so it’s always lovely and moist despite the lack of fat.

    I hope you feel better soon!

    • ClewisWrites

      Thanks for the suggestions! I had never heard of the Dukan diet but it sounds interesting with the “true weight” idea. I also liked the sounds of some of those recipes. I will definitely have to try some of them out. I almost completely forgot about pork and I love pork! Thanks for the ideas and thanks for reading! Have a great day!

    • ClewisWrites

      I am thinking it might be time to give tofu another try. For me, it’s always been one of those foods that I re-try every few years just to make sure I don’t like it still. I have yet to successfully make it and like it. I have never heard of tempeh but I will look into it! Thanks for the suggestion! Have a great day and thanks for reading!

  3. I’m amazed that you’re able to eat the same thing for breakfast and lunch every day! I can go for about 1 month of the same old until I’m ready to hurt myself. Everything I love suddenly becomes repulsive.

    Pork is great! There’s some great tenderloins that come pre-marinated at the market (around here, they’re the same price as the unseasoned one) and they’re absolutely delish! We pair it with a whole wheat rice pilaf and even Valentina loves it!

Leave a Reply

