New Recipe Alert! (And It Tasted Good Too!)

The Husband works for a seafood wholesaler and from time to time, they get new fish that they sample.  The other day, he sent me a text saying he was bringing home barramundi.  I had only heard of this fish on TV on cooking shows.  I knew it was a Pacific fish and common near Australia (at least that’s what I thought I had heard).

Not knowing anything other than it was also called the Asian Sea Bass, I didn’t really know the best way to cook it.  Luckily, the internet is full of helpful chefs who graciously share their recipes.  If not, I would have probably just pan seared it with some butter and lemon, always a tried and true way to cook any fish really.

We found this amazing recipe on TheBetterFish.com.  After coming to an agreement that it sounded good based on the ingredients in it, I set to work making it.

I started with the Mango Salsa and here are the ingredients I used:

  • 1 mango, peeled and finely diced – I used a pre-cut and sliced mango to save time.  To be honest, I still stink at peeling a mango.
  • 1/4 cup minced red onion
  • 2 Tbsp chopped cilantro or mint – I went with cilantro.
  • Zest of 1 lime
  • 1 Tbsp fresh squeezed lime juice
  • Salt, pepper, and hot sauce to taste

Using the pre-cut mango made the salsa easy  to make.  After I made it, I set it aside and moved on to the next step as directed.

For fish:

  • 4 barramundi fillets with skin, 6-8 oz each – The Husband cut ours a little smaller like 4 oz portions but that was ok with me since it was for me and my Mom and The Husband doesn’t eat fish.
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 tsp olive or canola oil, plus more for brushing the grill – Olive Oil is always my oil of choice.
  • 1/4 cup duck sauce (or sweet and sour sauce) – We used duck sauce as directed.
  • 1/4 cup teriyaki sauce (or Japanese soy sauce) – Oddly, we didn’t have any teriyaki sauce in the house so I used soy sauce.  Added a nice saltiness to the sweet.
  • 1 inch ginger root, peeled and finely grated – Next time, I’m going to use pre-grated ginger root.  Grating it was a PITA! Yes it probably tasted better but I’m lazy and it was time-consuming and annoying.  There I said it!
  • 1 tsp sesame seed oil

For avocados:

  • 2 avocados, halved lengthwise and pitted (don’t peel)
  • 2 tsp lime juice
  • 2 tsp olive or canola oil
  • Salt and pepper

Then it was on to the grilling!

  1. Pre-heat the grill to high.
  2. Dry fillets well on paper towels, season lightly with salt and pepper and rub with 2 tsp oil (go easy on the salt since teriyaki sauce is salty).
  3. In a small bowl combine, duck sauce, teriyaki sauce, ginger, and sesame seed oil. Mix well.
  4. Pick up a wad of paper towel with tongs, dip it in oil, and brush the preheated grill. Immediately place fillets on the grill, skin side down.  Cover the grill and cook for 3 minutes.
  5. Dislodge fillets from the grill using a fork, and then flip.  Brush the grilled side with teriyaki sauce.  Place avocados on the grill cut side down.
  6. After 2 minutes, turn avocados a quarter turn to create diagonal grill marks. Watch them carefully, as soon as they brown remove them off the grill and set aside. Flip fillets and brush with more teriyaki sauce. Cook 2 more minutes. At this point the avocados should be browned.
  7. Brush fillets with more teriyaki sauce and flip again. After 1 more minute, test fillets for doneness by inserting a knife in the thickest part of the fillet.
  8. In a small bowl, mix 2 tsp lime juice and 2 tsp oil and season generously with salt and pepper. Brush this mixture onto the cut sides of avocado. Stuff each avocado half with mango salsa and serve with fillets.

Can I just tell you – it was delicious?!  The lightness of the fish and the sweet and spicy salsa were a perfect combination of flavors.  Grilling an avocado was a first for me also and now it won’t be the last time I grill that wonderful fruit!  I can understand why this fish is a favorite of many.  It was light, not overly fishy, and is relatively easy to cook.

 

Picture from the website where I found the recipe…mine looked good but not that good.

I plugged the recipe into MyFitnessPal to get the individual serving info:

Calories: 369 Fat:12 Protein: 28 Fiber: 7 Carbs: 37

I then plugged it into my Weight Watchers calculator and it worked out to 9 Points Plus per serving. I’d call that a pretty awesome meal!

Tonight is weigh in so we’ll see how kind the scale is tonight.  I have been a nervous wreck about my surgery tomorrow but I don’t think I’ve been stress eating.  We shall see!

1 Comment

Filed under Food, New Recipes, Weight Loss

One response to “New Recipe Alert! (And It Tasted Good Too!)

  1. Sounds good! I am hungry now.

Leave a Reply

