How Did She Use a Paper Template?!

I started cutting squares last night.   The pattern that I’m doing requires six 6″ squares of six different kinds of fabric.  My aunt always did it with paper templates, cutting the pieces one at time or doubling it up somehow.

These aren’t my squares but some pretty squares that are the product of someone’s more skilled hand.

I don’t know how she did it.  After one set of squares, I was annoyed. I usually don’t mind things that take time.  That’s why I like doing cross-stitching.  It’s slow and calming.  Cutting those squares was not calming.  Pinning the paper didn’t work so well.  Holding it didn’t work so well.  I came close to just rolling up the fabric and tossing it all into the corner of the room while yelling some not so nice things at it.  As if it were the fabric’s fault that I couldn’t cut right.

Needless to say, a trip to the fabric store is in my immediate future.  I will be buying a cutting board and a rotary cutter.  Clearly, I am not yet at the level where I can hand cut all the pieces.  I feel like I failed kindergarten – basic cutting.

She did not fail cutting in Kindergarten

On a more positive note, at least I started.  I don’t think this will be a hard project as it’s just a rag quilt nothing fancy required.  I’m thinking that I might be able to work on it while I’m recovering from my surgery later this week.  That was partially my motivation for trying to cut the squares before Friday, the date of my surgery.

So, time to get moving and make the trip to the fabric store to stock up on a few supplies.  Hopefully I will be able to cut a little better once I have something to make cutting squares more easy!

5 Comments

Filed under Crafts

5 responses to “How Did She Use a Paper Template?!

  1. I suggest using a coupon and buying one of those combo packs from Joann’s, you usually get a rotary and a mat by Fiskars. Don’t forget to get yourself a ruler too! My most used is the 6″ by 24″ that has some angles on it.

  2. Jennie

    I love my mat and rotary cutter….makes life so much easier!

Leave a Reply

