Freedom! Kind of…

I finished.  My first semester of grad school is over.  My time is now free.  Last night, I sat down and felt a little strange because I didn’t have a discussion to respond to, a paper to write, research to do, a chapter or six to read for the first time since January.  I don’t know why this felt so much more intense than before.  It’s possibly because I am at a different place in life right now that it seemed harder.  My focus is more on my daughter than on school.  Damn distraction.

I finished though and so now, it’s time to get back to the real work.  The writing, the sewing, the reading…

It’s funny though because I’m stuck in academic writing mode.  I can’t help but feel like I need to include massive amounts of academic verbiage that exemplifies the fact that I am able to write at the desired level of my recent professors.  It’s a strangely hard habit to break.

Give it time though.  I’m reading the first Castle book…yes the one based on the television show.   I can’t wait to write the review for that one!  I also am back on the WW bandwagon after an abysmal winter.  Not to mention I have other things happening that are going to prove for a fun summer.

It’s good to write about nothing.  It’s good to not have to cite in APA format. It’s good to not worry about whether or not I have included enough references.  It’s good to just write.

4 Comments

Filed under Random Thoughts

4 responses to “Freedom! Kind of…

  1. I’m going to give you a little argument here. You’re not writing about “nothing” – you are writing bout your life – pretty darn special I say. Waving at you from the Garden State.

  2. I know the feeling. When I do go to graduate school I am afraid that I will forget how to be an academic writer

Leave a Reply

