Eating Cupcakes While Watching the Biggest Loser?

The Biggest Loser is inspirational, a little unrealistic, but inspirational nonetheless.  Watching this show, I’m reminded, for the umpteenth time, as to why I haven’t completely given up on Weight Watchers.  I may have been moving a snail’s pace, but I haven’t given up 100%.

Watching these people stand up on national television and bear it all to help inspire others is pretty amazing.  And yet, here I sit, enjoying a chocolate cupcake.

Yep.  A chocolate cupcake with vanilla buttercream frosting and fall colored jimmies.  It was good.

By Kat Kellner [CC-BY-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

By Kat Kellner [CC-BY-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

I probably should have been doing squats or lunges.

Sometimes, I think I need Jillian or Bob to yell at me to keep my fat butt in motion.  But then I realize, that they can yell at me all they want.  If I don’t fix what is broken, it won’t matter one bit.  The broken parts will always be broken.  It’s hard work.  Having done some form of this hard work my whole life (since I was 8), I get tired of it.  It’s what’s wrong right now. I’m tired of having to weigh and measure every single bite. I’m tired of having to write everything down.  I’m tired of having to wake up thinking about it.  It wears you down.  Even if I get to a point where I’m at a healthy weight, I will still have to track, weigh, measure.  Constant vigilance.

It’s sometimes discouraging.  But, then I think about being six feet under and not being able to see the Daughter hit some of life’s major milestones…that’s even more discouraging.

It’s a constant struggle. I know that I cannot give up, but on the other hand, I have never been able to fully imagine myself at the finish line.  Either way, I’m not giving up. Time to pony up and put the cupcake down.

4 Comments

Filed under Emotional Health, My Relationship with Food, Weight Loss

4 responses to “Eating Cupcakes While Watching the Biggest Loser?

  1. Talk about timing. Yesterday a friend brought me a quartet of the most sinfully delicious cupcakes. I have needed to put the cupcake down, and burn the take out menus for quite a while now.

  2. A goal of mine is to get to the point where I am at a healthy weight and can stay there “naturally” without having to put soooo muuuch energy into what I’m eating, when, why, how, etc. Our bodies are programmed to do this without so much “help” from us. It’s a big goal!

    • This is true however, sometimes the wiring can go wrong as an infant. I had a problem with my stomach valve that prevented me from eating properly as an infant it eventually corrected itself but my doctors have often wondered if that had anything to do with my lifelong struggle with weight.

Leave a Reply

