Is Binge TV Watching a Sin?

You know you’ve done it.  You know that you’ve had a friend suggest that you watch a show because they know that you will like it.  For whatever reason, you didn’t watch it the first time it was on and thanks to Netflix, Hulu, Xfinity, Amazon Prime, whatever…you can stream it and just binge on it.  If you have an addictive personality, it can be very dangerous.

Supernatural is my latest binge fest.  I know it’s not one of the “hot” shows right now but you know what.  I don’t care.  I knew five minutes in that I was going to be sucked in hook, line, and sinker.

supernatural

Here’s how it went down:

Stage 1: Ok, it’s kind of like X-Files.  I dig this.  I love the X-Files. They are like funny Mulder and Scully and brothers.  Cool.  I like it a lot.  Oh look, they even make references to X-Files.  Awesome.

Stage 2: Tragic back-story, made even more tragic by the fact that they are somewhat beautiful yet broken.  Ok – fangirling may be commencing….

Stage 3: First season ends with a cliffhanger…nope…click right into the season 2 premiere – tears may have been shed.

Stage 4: Even more references to other wonderful occult shows start to make their way into the stories.  Fantastic.  Even better – actors from said occult shows begin to make appearances.  Or “actresses” who meet their demise and I may have actually cheered a little when that one happened…

supernatural_paris_hilton3

Stage 5: Comedic Relief.  These episodes are amazing.  You will never hear “Eye of the Tiger” and keep a straight face again.  Then there’s the “Changing Channels” episode…

Stage 6: Angels. That is all. Just Angels.

Castiel_(supernatural)

Stage 7: Must keep watching.  Cannot stop watching.  #TeamFreeWill.

Stage 8: Imdb’s recent searches shows the tv show, the actors in the tv show, shows that the actors have been in other than said tv show.  Internet searches may have been done for GIFs that were created because while stalking your other fandoms (::Cough,cough::Doctor Who::cough::Cough::Sherlock::Cough::cough) you couldn’t help but see them and wonder what they meant.  Now, you know them all…

It’s a slippery slope, but one I will gladly slide down.  I cannot get enough of it.  It’s like putting your life on hold to watch all the episodes.  Each one, pushing you deeper down the rabbit hole, afraid for when it’s going to end because you know you’re going to get depressed when it’s over, the same way you get depressed when a series of books you love ends.

As my binging continues, I will just keep reveling in the sheer entertainment value of it.  Guilty pleasure you say?  Maybe.  It’s fine.  We all have them.  Mine just happens to one of biblical proportions.

2 Comments

Filed under TV

2 responses to “Is Binge TV Watching a Sin?

  1. Oh man, I’m no help. I’ve gotten obsessed over this show. (Mmm… Castiel…) We don’t have cable or anything like that, just Netflix. I think that increases the likelihood of “binge TV.” :P

    • I think you’re right. And waiting until the show is well into production also doesn’t help. It’s like when I got into Doctor Who. Talk about a binge! Then I even went back to the “original” episodes. Yeah…I don’t have an obsessive or addictive personality or anything…no, not me!

Leave a Reply

